PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

23 - poem

Sunday, Feb. 24, 2002
I wrote this on 10-16-2000 and all of the sudden it�s getting all kinds of attention on a poetry forum�I almost forgot those 23 days. Greg�my artist friend�..online�he changed my writing�changed my thought processes�.and is still my friend even now�.and I thought he was gone. The reference to ��and the paper is wet�.� is a reference to my tears wetting the cigarette I have put into my mouth�to this day when he calls me up randomly right when I hear that sound of his inhale�.I smile. I thought he was gone�..my abandonment issue again...and I was wrong...he has remained my friend.

23

And so 23 days
my lifetime flashed
my soul painted color
and so much changed
something happened
to the furniture that
I�ll never take for granted
The cobwebs floating away
And you know that song
I�ll remember you when
I see that disc spin rainbow
When I miss you
On your journeys
I�ll seek that star
I�m trying not
to see goodbye
In my mind or in my eye
I have stood here before
And for the first time I
Stop at 7 eleven
For some smokes
I never before lit a cigarette
How I crave to hear that sound
Of your inhale
The flick of the lighter
And the paper is wet
The boy behind the
Cheap counter knows
Are you ok?
I want to say yes so bad
And today I whispered no




as a side note�

Josh�.you really need to control your anger when someone says something you don�t like. I was wrong for what I said...and me and my wet paper bags�well we�re happy together�*shrugs*

1:39 a.m. ::
prev :: next