PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

cross off #86. make homemade potato bread for Rick

Wednesday, Mar. 08, 2006
Tonight I�m again staying up late�because I was busy baking bread. Yes , me baking bread on a Wednesday night!! I must work on some of my goals I recently set...

This is a recipe I got years ago from Katie Brown�s long since ended weekend show. I swear I�ve had this recipe since my son was 4 years old. Crazy. But it�s great.

Here we go�

First get out the mixer�..I�ve had this for years and though I secretly heart the red version there is no good reason to buy it when I already heart this one! I insisted I get this item in the divorce. INSISTED!!

Here�s the bowl of potato mixture.

Here�s the bowl of water and yeast.

Dump the water/yeast and the potato mixture into the mixer and add the flour one cup at a time. Here�s things in action�.

Have an empty buttered bowl ready for rising�

Here�s the dough done in the mixer.

This process makes a dirty counter�.covered in flour�..


While the dough rises in the bowl, (covered with plastic wrap so I can see and so no lint falls in from any towel�gross!!! I loath seeing towels on rising dough�.gross!!!)

�..while dough rises in bowl�.I clean up this mess�

You must also then take dough out of bowl�..punching down�.place in buttered bread pan and let rise again�..then bake�..recipe to follow!


My finished work of art�.






Potato Bread

1 baking potato peeled and cup up or leftover mashed potatoes. (I usually boil one potato skin left on but cleaned until soft throughout and then remove and peel saving some of the boiling water for this recipe)

1 cup milk
1 � Tablespoon Crisco or lard (plain�not butter flavor, it does not work)
1 � Tablespoon unsalted butter
1 � Teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon granulated white sugar
1 Tablespoon dry yeast (or 1 envelope of the 3 envelope packages)
1/3 cup warm water (for yeast proofing)
� cup reserved potato cooking liquids
5 cups of white flour

1. Scald milk in small pan and then add 1/2 cup reserved cooking liquids (if you use leftover mashed potatoes you simply use plain water here)
2. Combine liquids and potatoes from step 1 with the Crisco, butter, salt and sugar in a small bowl. Set aside to cool to room temperature if necessary.
3. Combine yeast and warm water, set aside until foamy
4. When potato mixture cools add it and yeast mixture to mixer with dough hook attachment.
5. Mix with mixer.
6. Add 1 cup of flour at a time and knead with dough hook for 7 minutes.
7. Remove dough from mixer when it forms a ball on it�s own.
8. Add dough to buttered bowl and cover with plastic wrap and let rise for � hour
9. Punch down dough
10. Place dough in one buttered 9 x5x3 loaf pan and let rise in pan for 45 minutes.
11. Preheat oven at 350 degrees (when you have ten minutes left to your 45 minutes of rising time)
12. Bake bread for 30 minutes until bread sounds hollow when tapped.
13. Eat.
14. Yum!

11:33 p.m. ::
prev :: next