PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

Tree Limbs Embrace the Sky - poem

Tuesday, Jul. 16, 2002
Tree Limbs Embrace the Sky

If I could
I would take the stars
From the sky
String them and
Tie them into a tail
So you could fly
A kite at night

With the lightening bug�s
They would sigh
Across the darkened sky
I�d tell you to make a wish
Close my eyes and say
It will come true if you
Whisper just like this

If I were to just try
I could take the diamonds
From all the tears I�ve cried
Screw them back like light bulbs
To again illuminate your skies

I�d get a ladder high
Scrawl your name
Across the dot to dot of stars
And I�d carefully curve the y
So wishes wouldn�t get caught
I�d draw a giant loop
So you had the perfect place to sit
When we talked eye to eye

If I weren�t so far away
I�d just hold a flashlight
And I�d say
Lets sit against the forest trees
As clocks in the distance chime
I�d read you a story
Right along with midnight
All about a once upon a time
1:39 a.m. ::
prev :: next