PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

a photograph of yesterday (poem)

Friday, Feb. 07, 2003
Another long weekend waiting around for something to return. It reminds me of being a kid up north waiting for spring...for that first robin, the first day you notice the grass has turned green. It's like waiting for the sunshine to come back. The rain is beautiful, but you pace for it's end.

I cannot even begin to describe tonight so I'm going to ramble it in the only way it might come out. Poetically...

Photograph of yesterday

you look like a photograph
of yesterday
a place I've been
but can't find my way back to
your blue eyes
they were mine once
your hands were smaller before

before this pain

i try to tell you
why i'm crying
why i want to leave you
in happiness

why your face is a strike of
lightning in
my darkness

you don't understand

and yet i want to take you
and never go back there
where he is
he and i
we created you
and he forgot
that it was love that
made miracles grow up

i know you can't comprehend
why i'm a walking ache
and all i can say is
remember when someone says
something mean
how it breaks
like a crack
in hot summer sidewalks

that's how my heart
feels
when I see your face

it is a memory
of everything lost

you were my everything
and now i am
paying such a high cost

i'm broke
i'm nothing
without your blue eyes
in my morning light
without your...
I'm completely lost

tonights tears
came rushing forth
despite my valour
despite my inner fight

i see your face
i am crushed
i am blinded
by your yesterday sight

-PoeticaL
11:59 p.m. ::
prev :: next