PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

as pretty as the truth (poem)

Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
I wrote this last June�it still makes me cry. It was and is about ex.


As pretty as the truth

This memory
Still rips me in two
It happens every time
I remember you

Forgiveness came cheap
As cheap as a kissing booth
I forgive all your reasons
But all the reasons to lie
Were never as pretty as the truth

One line straightened me out
Perfected my thoughts in a row
Perfect love could be perfected
Or that's what I wanted

Wanted to be loved
By the only one I loved
The reality is truth
A lie gives love a wicked shove

Mold me
I told me
Into something new
Hold me
I just wanted you to hold me
Until the lie was true

Forgiveness never comes cheap
As cheap as a kissing booth
I forgive all your reasons
But all your reasons to lie
Were never as pretty as the truth

What you told me
Was to hold me
What I told you
Was just for me
And it was just never ever about being true

A lie is an alibi
A lie is never as pretty as the truth

The memory
Still rips me in two
It happens every time
I remember the pretty truth

-PoeticaL
9:41 a.m. ::
prev :: next