PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

book meme

Saturday, Aug. 19, 2006


1. First book to leave a lasting impression? �Are you there God it�s me Margaret? � Judy Blume. This book was one of the first books I remember reading that made me truly love reading. It made me love a character, relate to a character, escape reality. For all of these reasons I pick this book. It�s lasted for nearly 25 years in my mind as something that every girl should read as it made me an avid reader.

2. Which author would you most like to be? Peter Mayle. Why? That man travels the world, writes about it and gets paid too? Count me in.

3. Name the book that has most made you want to visit a place? A trip to the beach: Living on Island Time in the Caribbean by Melinda and Robert Blanchard. They are a couple that leave Vermont and make a life in Anguilla. Anguilla sounds like a completely lovely place to vacation and more so to live. For months and even years after I�ve read this book I have daydreamed about Anguilla.

4. Which contemporary author will still be read in 100 years? I think this question is nearly impossible to answer. I cannot imagine any current author being around in 100 years.

5. Which book would you recommend to a teenager reluctant to try 'literature'? The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton and anything at all by Judy Blume.


6. Name your best recent literary discovery. Light of Day by James M. Saul. I loved this book so much so that I wrote to the author via email to tell him so. I can�t wait for him to write something else. This novel was so good I am thinking about it weeks later.

7. Which author's fictional world would you most like to live in? Within the novel Living Dead Girl by Tod Goldberg he describes a fictional town that I would love to move to, live in, work in and die in.

8. Name your favorite poet? Robert Frost

9. What's the best non-fiction title you've read this year? Ultrametabolism: The Simple Plan for Automatic Weight Loss by Mark Hyman This book was an eye-opener regarding the ill effects of white sugar, white bread, etc. on a person�s overall health. A friend told me to buy this and I�m overwhelmed with how much I have learned from this book to date. I�m still reading it.

10. Which author do you think is much better than his/her�s reputation? I don�t like this question�.it�s meme lame.

10:14 p.m. ::
prev :: next