PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

books i've bought recently

Saturday, Feb. 15, 2003
Rick finally added an entry to his diary. What a sweetie. :-)

Tonight I did a whole lotta nothing. I hung out at the bookstore. Some of the things going on in my life right now..I have been vague about here because I wonder if "ex" reads. He knows it exists but I doubt that he's bothering with it, but then again one can never tell. So while I speak about 90% of what is going on, I don't say much about my plans for divorce, the future, the resolve of my son's situation etc. And for me that's frustrating to say the least, I really hate feeling expression restrictions. But ok..onto normal other things.

I have bought some new books and as is the case most times, people who read usually want to know what I'm reading and buying so here goes.

Girl Talk - Julianna Baggott (I haven't read this yet, but have wanted to for some time, I snagged a hardback copy at an outlet store for $6.99)

Getting Over It - Anna Maxted (I also haven't read this yet, and snagged a used copy by a fair trade.)

Evening News - Marly Swick (I bought this book brand new last weekend in hopes of making my Rickless weekend go by quickly, it worked. I will be doing a complete review of this book after I read the last 100 pages this weekend. Suffice it to say...its an amazing book!)

The Beach - Alex Garland (I bought this book also brand new, and I started to read it even though I saw the movie a long time ago, and now Rick has started to read it.

Never Mind Nirvana - Mark Lindquist (I bought this book at a used bookstore for $4.99 because the very first chapter the main character puts The Replacements CD in his stereo and the author so brilliantly decided to quote lyrics from "I will dare" I am on Chapter 3...and still reading in between reading Evening News.)

Tonight I snagged a brand new copy of Eighty-Sixed - David B. Feinberg I read 3 chapters of this book while at the bookstore, in it he says "To keep a relationship fresh,think of it as a series of one night stands." Interesting. This is gay fiction and is about a gay mans experiences with AIDS in the early 80's and came recommended by Bret Easton Ellis, a longtime favorite of mine!

Furthermore I wanted to mention that I have a book out from the library and am almost finished with it as well. (yes I am aware that I'm currently reading 3 novels simultaneously, I am just like that! I love to read!!) The book I have out from the library??? White Girl - Kate Manning

I read 200 pages of this book and it's brilliant, I have 200 to go. I am currently wracking up a library fine to keep this book another weekend. *shrugs* the price of great fiction. This book is about a white female marrying a black man. She's a model, hes an Olympic medalist in skiing. It's very interesting and engaging. I really love this book and intend to own a copy of it when it comes out in paperback. It's that good!

Of all the things I have stashed in storage, I miss my books the most. I worry about what condition they will be in when I go to retrieve them. I might have to go check on them soon. There is no climate control in the storage unit I opted for. I'm worried that the Floridian humidity will fuck up my books. Perhaps I can put a tub of that de-humidifier gunk in there??? Any suggestions? I know I asked this question before....but...uh..yeah thanks.

Now...even though the bed is empty because Rick is igcognito again this weekend...*sniff* *sniff*, I am tired and I'm going to go grab a book and read til I fall asleep.

Cute...Rick signed my guestbook asking me who "t" was...I 'splained it to Ricky and all's well. "t's" a boy I met on the information highway, he's military M.I.A. 99% of the time.

Night ladies and gents! 8-)

-PoeticaL
1:28 a.m. ::
prev :: next