PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

what am I reading you ask...oh well some...brite novels

Monday, Sept. 12, 2005
I haven�t been writing about what I am reading as of late, so it�s time to update that front. In fact it�s my favorite thing to actually write about here. I recently ran into some blogs online that belong to people that lived in New Orleans. There was much hubbub in the blog world and therefore I found some new and interesting blogs the unfortunate way. I came across Poppy Z Brites live journal this way and decided to give her book Liquor a try. I had picked it up in the past and contemplated buying it but wasn�t well informed about her as a writer.
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

That was a week ago. I am nearly done with Liquor and I am in love with it. In love. The characters are fully fleshed out. To the point where they become people you know and care about. I would be lying if I didn�t mention that the novel is set in New Orleans and that my mind kept falling onto now familiar streets and places (because of CNN). I kept thinking that the places and thoughts in this book have been so damaged. I know that with change comes good things, but the book echoed thru me with a certain sadness that wouldn�t have been there prior to Katrina. Either way, it would have been a good read back then, but oddly enough it was like a warm blanket of memories that weren�t mine but slowly became mine as I read. It was the perfect book to read this week because it instilled my wish to see things be rebuilt in quick fashion and with the same heart and soul. I want to believe that if it happened once it can happen again.
I am 3/4 of the way through liquor and I already bought the follow up novel, Prime.
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us




I�m glad that I am reading Liquor when Prime is already written and sitting on my shelf waiting for me to finish. I�m looking forward to putting down one book and picking up the next without a pause. Now if I could just finish it all within the next 24 hours since a new class starts tomorrow. My week off is over. But this week of reading for pleasure was sweet. I read a few other things in part and partial, I�ll talk about them soon. In the meantime say a prayer for Poppy Z. Brite and her family; they are currently displaced from their home in New Orleans.
3:44 p.m. ::
prev :: next