PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

both covers still suck..even if I read the wrong one

Wednesday, Dec. 01, 2004
A few nights ago while watching TV a commercial came on about a movie that will be on NBC, CBS or some such network cable channel. The commercial stated �based on the bestselling novel by�� and the man very nonchalantly asked me �Was that book any good?� or he may have said, �Did you read that book?� However he worded it, it was stated in such a way as to show that he assumed that naturally I had read it as I own over 500 books and surely this was one of them.

Ironically, I had of course heard of the book, but for whatever reasons never gravitated towards it. I personally think it was the boring ass cover on the poor book that made it look wretchedly uninteresting. I�m not big on TV movies, however I thought it was very very little boy style charming that my man assumes I am the reader extraordinaire and know all books and have read all words. Sooo..I stopped at my favorite used book store close to Job #1 and they had a brand new copy of the book staring me in the face. So I bought it. And I read it later that day, that day being yesterday, for a little over an hour while on my lunch break. Yes, I extended my own lunch benefit by ten minutes because I was so enthralled by this book.

I then went home after a long day at both jobs and spent the next two hours or so reading. I was up until 1 a.m. and save for running the bath water and swashbuckling back some rather stale and raisin poor in abundance cereal, I read. And I read. And I read, until 1 a.m. About two hours. So in 3 hours I read this book. And after 3 hours of almost non-stop reading unless forced to, I fell in love with this novel enough to think I might and should and just probably will gift it to someone this year for Christmas. Sure it�s a feel good book, a �you should buy it because it was a bestseller novel� book. Sure sure�but damn it, it had me hooked. I was there like a dead fish not caring that I was yanked from the water of my normalcy. I was all over it like mayo on a ham sandwich.

So, �what the fuck was the book???�, you say by now.

I thought it was �Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom� and so I bought it.

Boring horrific cover art, great interior wordage. Was I forever changed by this book. Hell no! If I were, I wouldn�t be typing swear words left and right right now. But there were things in that book that will remain.

So now I come to find out that this same author wrote another book called �The Five People you Meet in Heaven� which is actually the movie we saw the commercial for, yah I�m a dimwit aren�t I? And damn it anyhow. Now I have to invest another 2 to 3 hours to the right one. ;-)

-PoeticaL

P.S. I love you R, for assuming I�m all that in the book reading world. I just couldn�t NOT read it after that. So, you wanna watch this probably crappy rendition of a Television version of the book I still didn�t read with me? The movie is showing on ABC on December 5th, that�s this Sunday! And NO, no one�s paying me to promote anything�too bad. I now need $14.93 to buy the right book before Sunday night and another 3 hours or so to read it�grr� It's a "hallmark" movie...that's as bad as "lifetime tv" ish.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
9:51 p.m. ::
prev :: next