PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

english one OH fucking ONE

Monday, Feb. 21, 2005

I am currently in a writing class.The students are posting their answers to discussion questions and talking to one another.It�s fucking scary how bad some people write.It makes me cringe daily, but especially in a writing class.It�s sickening.Truly sickening that anyone writes as badly as college students (who are at least 24 years of age) currently are.It�s enough to make me fucking puke the alphabet and then feed it to the good witch Glenda while the entire class watches while I make them sing their ABC�s.

My first example is how I posted in reply to what she stated.(my text changes are in red)....

Keep in mind I am not the teacher.Nor am I trying to be mean or heartless at all.Also keep in mind that I too make mistakes.I learned how not to make as many mistakes when I started to post my poetry on an open forum online and people spent all their time correcting my spelling and grammar and I really wanted their thoughts on my creativity instead.I got tired of people doing this very thing to me by correcting me.I�m sure Ms. Halls can and will find errors in my own writing so please take this as tongue in cheek and certainly feel free to critique absolutely anything that I myself write as I�m here to learn and be corrected along the way.:-)

You posted the below:

You are right Kristy.

Because in my position at work we are required to notate accounts with
any work that we have done on or with that particular account and we use
a lot of short hand or our version any way. So this becomes a big issue
for me when I try to complete a paper for school or any other writing I
tend to have trouble spelling words that I should no how to spell, or
trouble writing things out period because I abbreviate words all day
long. I also look back at something's that I have written either in my
posts or my papers and it's not good.

Hopefully we all will learn to strengthen our weakness from this class.
Because I know I have a lot to learn about how to put words to paper.

First fix spelling errors�

Because in my position at work we are required to notate accounts with any work that we have done on or with that particular account and we use a lot of short hand or our version any way. So this becomes a big issue for me when I try to complete a paper for school or any other writing I tend to have trouble spelling words that I should know (sp) how to spell, or trouble writing things out period because I abbreviate words all day long. I also look back at some things (two words not one) that I have written either in my posts or my papers and it's not good.

Hopefully we all will learn to strengthen our weakness from this class.Because I know I have a lot to learn about how to put words to paper.

Now fix the grammar�.

You are right Kristy.

In my position at work we are required to notate accounts with any task we have completed on any particular account.We use a version of shorthand to accomplish this task, at least our version of shorthand that is.

This habit becomes a big issue for me when I try to complete a paper for school as well as when I try to accomplish any other type of writing.I tend to have trouble spelling words I should know how to spell.I sometimes find myself having a difficult time writing things out because I abbreviate words all day at work.I also tend to have trouble spelling words that I should know how to spell.Or I have trouble writing things out.I also look back at some things that I have written and realize I have not done well.

Hopefully we will all learn to strengthen our weaknesses from taking this class.I know I have a lot to learn about how to put words to paper.

The second post I wanted to fix but didn�t because it was so bad I just didn�t want to waste my time was the below:

DQ 2:� Name some of the effects reading has on your thinking or your actions.What do you read that has an effect on you?� Due Monday, Day 5.

Me Personally I have never been a reader normally the things that I read are this of interest to me like sports, news and computer technogly. As far affects typically my reading expands my knowledge this I would never know about if I would have never pick that magazine, book or paper up. Most of the time when I read certain things I pass the info out to my students and family. By reading I guess it does play a role in my action, for example if I am in a store and I just read about a particular processor it might steer me to buy that vice what the market was saying what is top of the like. Things that I read now that have a effect on me would probably be my Microsoft certification books, and they effect by having me prepped when I stand in front of my class everyday, it ensures that I am putting out valid information.

CHEESE AND RICE that guy just fucked up the English language worseR (word I used in error on purpose people!) than even I care to fix.Would you let him work on your computer?Yikes.What the hell can these people LEARN me?



My favorite quote in this class to date: "Reading and learning sure gain knowledge and made me wiser."

Oh realllyyyy now?????

2nd runner up...

Hi my name is **** *******. I am a native Texan, borned and raised. You were borned? Reallllyyyy???

12:04 a.m. addition

Now here is the best part, the student I corrected above, she replied

with the below (that I also corrected, but won�t post because fuck all I can�t HELP her)

We all are, and I plan to take full advantage of this learning experience.
And trust me my job is not making it easy for me. Basically I get to cheat
and misspell whatever I like because they're not looking for grammatical
errors, they're looking at my performance. It's getting to be nerve wrecking

(you mean wracking!) now because when I try to actually write something

I tend to write it as if I'm notating an account and start to abbreviate things,

like everyone I'm writing to works with me an (you mean �and�) will

know what I'm talking about, right.Although lately I have been

making a point to read and reread what I have written to avoid this.

So all (delete all) please excuse this, because it's by mere habit

(that I'm hear (change to here) to

break). Never the less (Nevertheless is one word not three!) it's a

challenge that I will accept and one that I intend to succeed at.

Writing bad is a bad habit? I have decided I never want to be an English teacher and I should further worship Tod Single D. man because he's a writing teacher and that's gotta take patience.

10:00 p.m. ::
prev :: next