PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

facing facts

Tuesday, Aug. 02, 2005

Dear Mr. Math Teacher,

At this point within this course I am well aware that I am far more lost than I would ever want to be.� I have sought help several times from outside tutor's etc.� I am trying to learn a great deal of things in a very short period of time and at the fault of no one else, I have been unable to play catch up to even my own high standards despite my best efforts.

When I went to high school 17 years ago I took Accounting I, Accounting II, and Business Math to satisfy my needed credits.� My plan then was to become a secretary.� I accomplished that plan.� Plans have changed however.� Last week I sought the advice of an academic counselor and my plans are to attend another University for my Math credits.� Not because you are not an amazing teacher doing amazing things with the short and fast syllabus required at *****, because you are.� But rather because I need to start at a lower entry level and take a Pre-Algebra course and work longer and harder along with an additional tutor to be successful in Math.�

This saddens me, but honestly I look at some of the problems and have all the desire in the world to complete them, but am clueless as to where to start.� This has caused a few actual anxiety attacks and I would venture to say that I have not been able to offer my assistance to my team like I would most wish to and have done in other courses.

Some people's nemesis is writing papers; some people's nemesis is Math. I was lost the first night two hours into the course because it was already beyond what I have had experience with in the past.� I know that I can overcome these things provided that I spend the time necessary for me to learn.� I love (school�s name) and will not withdraw for anything in the world, one because that's flat out quitting in my mind and I am not quitting Math, and I am an employee and will never withdraw from a course.� I comprehend that this is the monkey on my back that I will have to fight to overcome.

I want to thank you for everything I have learned from you because I believe that while I am confused as all get out right now, some things will be more familiar the second and third time around (if necessary) because of this course with you.

I write this only because I am completely aware that my work has been weak weak weak.� Something that makes me ache inside, but something I have determined to be a course I am going to have to approach with more than five weeks to overcome.� I have already put off Math 203 with plans to attend Math courses for 16 weeks elsewhere along with a full time tutor and a month from now after allowing myself more time to work thru Aleks, etc.� I know that I will satisfy my Math requirements and move on to graduate one day, it just might be after a superhero style showdown with Algebra.

Thanks for your time!
Kristy

8:40 p.m. ::
prev :: next