PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

farewell on a sigh (poem)

Wednesday, Jun. 04, 2003
something I just ran across of mine on the net...no reason for it...I used to rhyme alot back then
Farewell on a Sigh

Tonight I was thinking
Of all the confusion
Listing it out
Neatly like vast illusion

I�m wondering if
There�s much more
I�ve mastered misery
Forlorn, and I�ve lost score

I�m collecting things
Trying in vain to fill voids
Stacking them neatly and yet
Fulfillment somehow I avoid

Blank pages would be better
Perhaps just to think
Maybe I should write you a letter
No, instead I�ll eat cake over my sink

I�m aimlessly traveling circles
And surely going somewhere
Yet when I slow down my pace
I realize I�m still stuck right here

I�m restless and lost and wordless
In my quest to write like I should
Everything I want has a cost too high
But I�ll go broke just because you would

For so long I�ve played the same deck
Of cards I was given
Never knowing that I could escape
Solitary, a moment that�s never for living

Maybe there�s nothing and that would
Be just as well in my mind
I guess I�m just lost in my hell
And happiness is always a rewind

Back to the pacing
Writing led on crumbling wall
My anxiety is racing against
Loves every weakened enthrall

Making sense is for poets
I�m a crack on my high
Wiping ink off my hands
Metering out farewell on a sigh

July 23,2001
7:47 p.m. ::
prev :: next