PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

gobs from johnstown

Sunday, Dec. 14, 2003
Tonight while chatting to Bry he brought up the Incline Plane. He's a train engineer and has a slight interest in trains because of this. His bringing this up brought back tons of memories.

The Incline Plane.....

It's a place from my hometown, Johnstown.

It doesn't look like much when you get there. Just two cars on the side of the hill. And I don't remember it half as much as I wish I could right now. I do know my first date with ex was there. I shoulda jumped off the observation deck. Nah...shoulda pushed him. lol (it's a joke a joke....doh...he and I are actually getting along pretty well right now)


I wanna go for a ride on it tonight. It's really steep.

All that talk of home and now I'm hungry for these.....


Most people have never heard of em. You can buy them nowhere but there. And when you leave..you miss em. Trust me. That and Pretzels...I miss all those lovely pretzels too. Oh and when I think too long I miss my Grandparents too much to stand it. Lucky for BF I'll be baking in the next few days. :-)

-PoeticaL

If you're ambitious or hungry too....(they ARE NOT Whoopie Pies, or round Ho Ho's either. They are....

Gobs

1/2 cup Crisco
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup boiling water
1/2 cup cocoa
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup sour milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
4 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Cream shortening, eggs and sugar. Sift dry ingredients and add alternately with sour milk and water. Drop by teaspoon on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake at 425 degrees F for 7 minutes. Cool before filling.

FILLING

3 tablespoons melted margarine
3 tablespoons flour
1 cup milk
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup Crisco
1 teaspoon vanilla

Cook the margarine, flour and milk until thick like paste, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and cool to room temperature.

Beat until smooth, the sugar, Crisco and vanilla.

Add the cooked mixture to the sugar/Crisco/vanilla mixture; beat until creamy.

Spread as you like on a Gob half and top with another Gob half. Tradition states you wrap them up individually in wax paper. This way your gob's don't stick to each other or make a mess.

Enjoy!!!
10:47 p.m. ::
prev :: next