PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

he forgot to wear a helmet now he can't remember...

Monday, Sept. 16, 2002
I just got a phone call from someone in my past that I knew a long time ago. I had just started to reconnect with him recently. Then I didn�t hear from him for like 7 months. I had no way to contact him and so I just waited. They all come back.

He came back. He found my cellphone number listed in his cellphone. He called me. He got in a motorcycle accident without wearing a helmet and sustained a head injury. I spoke to him for 20 minutes whereby I proceeded to explain to him who I was, how we knew each other.

He remembered I had a son and that my Dad had a black dog. He didn�t remember anything that�s happened in the last 2 years. He didn�t remember that my Dad has passed away. He asked, �yeah so how�s he doing?� I had to retell him that he passed away. He re-consoled me and gave his sympathy all over again, as if he just died.

He wasn�t wearing a helmet. I asked him for his parent�s phone number. He couldn�t remember it. He couldn�t remember where he put it. He told me he would have to wait for them to come back and he would write a note to tell them I wanted to speak to them. He couldn�t remember where he kept his pens. He asked me "where are my pens"?

At one point I asked him what he did remember about me. He said, �we worked together, we had fun�I know I have a crush on you..� That was 13 years ago. Last January he knew most everything about my life and me. Now he doesn�t remember anything after I left that job.

I asked why he called. He said, �I remember you just give me a second and maybe it will all come back.� I got quiet. He got quiet. I started to cry. He said, �yeah I remember now how you always cried.� He didn�t come back, but part of him , enough of him to call. He said, �I remember that you were important and I thought you should know I�m not dead.�

All I know is that this sucks.

PLEASE WEAR A HELMET!

PoeticaL
12:49 p.m. ::
prev :: next