PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

here comes the groom

Friday, Oct. 01, 2004
As some of you already know (Sandy and Meredith) I planned on asking R to marry me. The entire time I�ve known him he jokingly has told me that if I ever wanted to get married I�d have to propose to him. He never said why, it was just something he always said. So�I decided to just go after what I truly knew in my heart I wanted. I want him in my life, I love him, he�s done more for me than any other person I've ever known. To explain it all would be impossible and so I won�t. We have had some really rough things happen to us as a couple, and yet the love is still there just as strong. He has done many things in the last 3 months that make me exceedingly proud of who he is and who he is becoming. I myself have also become a better person because of our struggles. Where I am now as a person has much to do with his love for me, his support and our mutual understanding of each other.



I bought a ring. I planned a proposal whereby I was going to write �Will you marry me?� in permanent magic marker on my hip. I have long teased him about getting his name tattooed on my body. I was going to tell him I got his name tattooed on my hip then show him my message. I was planning to do this on Friday night.



However yesterday he called asking to see me so after work last night I drove over to his brother�s house to see him, ring on my thumb�and�.he looked so tired, so sweet, he kissed me and I could taste the candy I sent him on his lips�so�I asked. He stood there for a few minutes saying nothing. He said we were just now doing better, that things would get better. I told him I knew what I wanted, I knew how I felt and I just wanted him to know. He was �answerless�. I started to cry, I said �I just want you to know I love you this much.� He hugged me, told me �I didn�t say no�. I left him with the ring last night saying it was his no matter what, that I wanted him to have it because I didn�t have the heart to take it back. I said �I will not ask again, I can�t let myself do that.� He hugged me asked me not to be hurting, said he was surprised, a lot of things were mumbled but the entire time he hugged me, rubbed my back�kissed me.



So, I skipped the tattoo idea, I just bawled my eyes out and asked.



He called me this morning saying in an exuberant little boy excited voice �yes Kristy yes�I thought about it all night last night and yes�.yes I love you and I want to marry you too!�



Tonight we�re going out to celebrate! I�m head over heels happy and I have never ever felt so loved. I wonder if he knows that I have never ever put myself out there with my heart hanging on my sleeve wide open like that before in my entire life. Sometimes it�s all you can do�.sometimes love prevails. Sometimes you need to let go and sometimes you need to hang on. I always hung on. I'm so happy right now that I did.



He wants to have a big wedding.. I can't wait to tell my son...my future nephew....my future sister-in-law!



-PoeticaL
12:04 p.m. ::
prev :: next