PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

if you only knew (poem)

Thursday, May. 09, 2002
I wrote this last June about someone�.and here we are in May of the following year and I feel the exact same damn way about someone else�.*sigh*

if you only knew

i wish
a wish
a polka dotted dish
holding all of life
in the blink of the
life a fish
upstream
downtown
everyone moves
his river
around

i wish
i was
something
worth your wish
but you can�t let
your penny drown

if i laid down
beside you
crawled inside you
until the essence of
my i disappeared
would you forget me?
because i didn�t take
from you
i only
gave for you
to see

my shadow
could leave you
a memory
of
my eye sockets
empty

can you touch
what i did for you?
what i gave up for you?
you never saw one
my own vision
you painted me
your sad viewpoint
into division

i�d be me for you
if you were me for me
for you will never be
enough for me
by only being you

and now I can
barely
but I brailley see
you cocking your head
i see the confusion
of blatant division

i know you don�t get me
even though i give me
too free

you don�t quite ever
understand
the way i live

but you laugh at the
joke
just to be part of
the �us� crowd
problem is
you might just
make it through
if you didn�t
laugh so damn loud

then there�s

�me�

if you only knew
9:36 a.m. ::
prev :: next