PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

oh bollocks!

Friday, May. 17, 2002
Today's my birthday...I'm taking the day off from here to reevaluate if I even want a diary anymore.....but....this is a funny story.

basically this is my email to BraN�..(who taught me all British slang!)

BraN,

It's 1:34 a.m here as I start to write this email. I almost didn't log on to do this...but I thought it was odd that I thought of you and then I realized that you are probably just getting up out of bed and getting ready for work and I will be just crawling into bed to go to sleep. Or at least close.

I am reading this book, Microserfs by Douglas Copeland. It was published in 1995. It's almost entirely about Microsoft on a fiction level. It's about a group of young computer coding guru's that live together. A computer "Melrose Place" for a lack of a better term. I am on page 124 of 371 pages of this book.

I bought this book at a very big and very "used" book seller in downtown (@)!%@#. (a few blocks from where I work, so I go there frequently). I paid $5 for this book and it's in pretty good condition. Well, I buy books there alot as I said and there's someone that sells their books to this store. It's the same someone I believe because they write notes and underlines interesting sentences with a red pen throughout the books that they have sold to this store. Generally what the person underlines or comments to is funnier than what the text itself is. At different times in this particular book, the said "red pen" person has drawn little squiggly pictures. I have seen this same sort of squiggly drawing in about 10 to 15 other books I have bought used across the area....well....

I found something amusing on page 125. The paragraph reads...

"I told Karla what Ethan said at lunch, about teaching money to multiply itself. She said Ethan's talking "bollocks." I asked her what that word meant, and she said she wasn't sure--it was a term from the punk rock era. "Something to do with anarchy and safety pins." We're going to email someone in England and find out."

I immediately started to laugh out loud. Doh! What made this passage even funnier is...well.....right below this paragraph....Mr or Mrs. Red Pen person wrote ..."it means balls". HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! They wrote it rather big and in quotes too! I actually burst out in uncontrollable laughter. Mr or Mrs. Red Pen person hasn't a clue but took the time to write that? teehee.....

From what I recalled myself bollocks means "mess up". Most commonly said by the British (ie we dumb American's don't say this word!) in the following sentence or phrase....when something goes "amuck" (another British word...amuck) "Oh bollocks!" An american would say of course "awww F8%k!" Because we are rude bastardS over here!

According to www.dictionary.com

bollocks

v : make a mess of, destroy or ruin [syn: botch, fumble, botch up, muff, blow, flub, screw up, ball up, blunder, spoil, muck up, bungle, fluff, bollix, bollix up, bollocks up, bobble, mishandle, louse up, foul up, mess up, fuck up

So in closing I would just like to continue to laugh and say "mr/ms red pen you fucked up!"

And another thing I would like to say. If you ever write in a book with red pen, make sure you know what you're talking about. teehee.....

Ok it's 1:49 and this book made me think of you and so I am half asleep typing this. One last thing.....smile....and HAVE A NICE DAY!

tra la la KriS

bollocks is balls??!?! hahahahahhahahahaha, oh man that's so funny!

Just think while you're reading this, I'm sleeping and while I was writing it you were sleeping.
1:58 a.m. ::
prev :: next