PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

r.i.p.

Saturday, Jan. 04, 2003
Only in my life would I get up at 5 a.m. to drive my son halfway across the United States to this cheeseball COLD place to say goodbye to him. He hugged me, we said I love you�s. We said �goodbye�. He was happy. His hair was messy. His eyes were blue. He was excited to see his grandparents.

No one knew what my thoughts were.

Only my life could be this insidious and ugly.

Only in my life would I have this conversation�.while Pink Floyd The Wall is playing over the circa �before they sounded good� car radio�

�If I killed myself, what would you tell our son?�



�I don�t know��



Only in my life would he only 4 hours later hand me $50 and tell me �buy groceries and don�t do anything stupid�. He then turned and walked out.

Hard to have a reason not to when I just gave it away...

A Reason, A Season, or A Lifetime

Some people come into our Lives
For some specific Reason --
Referral to the Doc, perhaps,
While coughin', wheezin', sneezin'.

Their purpose served, and their reward,
Your thankful comments given,
They leave your Life and you go on --
More days and years for Livin'.

Some people come into our Lives
For longer, for a Season --
To warm our souls, perhaps, in winter
While our hearts are freezin'.

Don't wonder why they have to leave
When you have grown in Livin',
Since they were there for you, a Time,
Accept all they have given.

These people who come to your Life
For Reason or for Season,
Are there to help you move along,
Their leavin's no high treason.

But other people come into
Your Lifetime for Forever,
To grow in Love and Friendship of
Each phase of your endeavor.

They change with you and watch you grow
While memories are treasured --
The value of connection with
The all you are, not measured.

No matter which, relationships
With people have objective.
And each adds value to your Life,
Though sometimes quite subjective.

Yes, Life is change and people leave
And sometimes it's confusin',
But we should not feel scared of change,
Since gain was made, not losin'.

There's no doubt in my mind that We
Will be here for forever.
I can't imagine otherwise,
Such Love we'll never sever.

But if you leave my Life and I
Am left here then, without you --
Remember I will always hold
Sweet memories about you.

You've been my Friend, my Lover and
You've taught me many lessons.
And what it is, it is, my Love,
No use in second guessin's.

A Reason or a Season or
a Lifetime, it's not certain.
Whatever it will be, will be,
No close to any curtain.

-doreen peri-�

3:37 a.m. ::
prev :: next