PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

"Theres a hole in my sidewalk"

Tuesday, Oct. 08, 2002
Today I went to the same used book store down the street from work that I always go to. There�s an older couple that runs the place. They have become friendly faces that I see very often in my life. They rant at each other in the most playful of ways. Today the mrs. pointed out that she got a book in about Jack Kerouac. I had talked to her about him and about how you never see stuff that good in used bookstores. So she was thrilled to show me. In the process I saw a tiny little yellowing book of poetry. They HAVE a poetry section and I never knew??? I told her to forever tell me if they got new poetry books in!!! Today I bought two poetry books for $3.50 total. I paid $1 for the small yellowing book in one of its earliest (possibly first) editions from 1977. The year there was a giant flood in my hometown.

In the front of the book is the following inscription�

3-15-77

Ted,

We wanted to share the good thoughts in this book with you, and �thank you� for sharing such positive and good thoughts with us last night!

Sincerely,
Walter and Matthew

For some reason I imagine Walter and Matthew to be gay lovers and Ted was an older gay man. I have no idea why this image comes to me except to say in my mind it�s a genuine nice scene that comes to mind. Perhaps they had dinner, shared some wine. Whatever the reasons, ain�t Ted just the nicest for giving such a wonderful poetry book to what appears to be a couple? It makes me feel all warm and good all over. It immediately reminded me of the poetry book �t� sent to me not so long ago�

This book is mostly short poems. Nice and tight and perfect poems. One line thoughts. A few lines here and a few lines there. It�s amazing. I took it back to work and read it 3 times!!! There is a line in there that is on a page all it�s own.

�There is so much about me that I don�t know until I talk to you.�

It reminds me of someone I love and what that relationship is like for me. It also reminds me of another website I have been writing for a year. A place that I am proud of myself for.

She writes everything I feel. I read some poetry from this book to someone tonight. He said, �she writes just like you.� He noticed. I felt nothing but complimented. There is a poem in this book I can relate to especially.

There's A Hole In My Sidewalk
In Five Easy Chapters


Chapter One

I walk down a street and there's a big hole. I don't see it and fall into it. It's dark and hopeless and it takes me a long time to find my way out. It's not my fault !

Chapter Two

I walk down the same street. There's a big hole and I can see it, but I still fall in. It's dark and hopeless and it takes me a long time to get out. It's still not my fault.

Chapter Three

I walk down a street. There's a big hole. I can see it, but I still fall in. It's become a habit. But I keep my eyes open and get out immediately. It is my fault.

Chapter Four

I walk down a street. There's a big hole. And I walk around it.

Chapter Five

I walk down a different street.


Trust me when I say� treat yourself to this book!

-PoeticaL
11:14 p.m. ::
prev :: next