PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

statistics

Wednesday, May. 12, 2004
Statistically speaking, I�m better off having a child out of wedlock and remaining unwed. Statistically speaking that is. Morally�I never said I was going to have a child out of wedlock, I said rather that I wanted another child. Apparently wanting and having are two different things at this point. However, if I were to become pregnant I would rejoice in the gift and the technicality of �marriage� papers

Statistically speaking second marriages have a higher risk of failure than that of first.

Diane Sollee, founder of the Coalition for Marriage, Families and Couples Education, a pro-marriage group, said the fall in the remarriage rate is "a good sign . . . that we're all sobering up."

"People are realizing there are reduced odds of success in a second marriage, especially if there are stepchildren, and it's very daunting to do it all over again," Sollee said.


When my ex first left he told me and I quote �Find someone to use, that�s what I did.� He said these words about his now brand new wife. Sweet, no?

A few days ago during a conversation with my ex he said, �don�t ever tell her that.� IE: Don�t tell my new wife because I haven�t told her because I am a liar. Sweet again..no?

Before some jacked fool comes along saying I did the same thing...let it be known that two weeks after I met my current b.f. I had the option of signing a lease and moving out. I opted to stay. Two weeks after I met him I wanted to be with him and not move away.

I won�t list all of the sources but do your googlage and find out yourself that second marriages are completely doomed if and when two people from previous marriages where there was a high incident of infidelity are doomed to a second divorce.

Am I bothered that he married again? No. Am I bothered about WHO he married. Yes. I�d prefer someone sounder than her to be an influence over my child.

The below is a bunch of statistically speaking stuff... Women who have children at the time of remarriage are more likely to experience second marriage disruption than women who do not have any children, and if the children were unwanted, the probability of disruption is even higher. After 10 years of remarriage, the probability of disruption is 32 percent for women with no children at remarriage. For women with children, but none of whom were reported as unwanted, the probability is 40 percent. It is not surprising that the presence of children from a prior relationship can affect the stability of a second marriage, nor is it surprising that the presence of unwanted children may have a greater deficit. Stressful events in the past may impact the stability of remarriages. The probability of second marriage disruption is higher for women who did not grow up in a two-parent intact family (49 percent) than for women who did (33 percent). The probability of second marriage disruption is significantly higher for women with lower family income Other individual characteristics did not show significant effects, although the data suggest that second marriage disruption may be more likely for women without a high school education, for women with no religious affiliation, for women whose first birth was before or during the first 7 months of first marriage as opposed to after 7 months of marriage, and for women who are older than their husbands. Interestingly, although the probability of first marriage disruption is higher if the first marriage was preceded by cohabitation, this is not the case for second marriage; if anything, cohabitation before remarriage may be associated with a lower probability of disruption, although the difference is small and not statistically significant. Second marriage disruption is significantly more likely in communities with a high percent of households below poverty, low median family income, and low percent college-educated individuals.

The overall pattern is one of increasing chances of second marriage disruption over time.
10:42 a.m. ::
prev :: next