PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

steal worthy is not the same as stealing

Tuesday, May. 21, 2002

There�s something that�s been on my mind for a little while now.This whole notion of people quoting my diaries without a mention of where those words originated.Yeah that�s right I said diaries.I have more than this one.(Don�t we all?)The only other one that I really mess with is one other one.It�s not a secret, but if you want to know for sure, just email me, I�ll tell ya.Anyways, I have seen my words, meaning my poetry lines quoted elsewhere.One time a girl used a quote from my other diary as her entire layout.Now is it not kewl or is it kewl? I mean there�s a nice feeling when you see your words like that, but when the person doesn�t ask you, then that�s just fucked.I mean, I believe that all people are creative in their own way.If they just sit down and open their own minds on a blank piece of paper that to me is more beautiful than using my words.While I feel that some works of fiction are so quote worthy, Fight Club by Chuck for one!I mean how can anyone not quote that?It�s so difficult.

I still think personal creativity is far more awesome than masking yourself with someone else�s work.It would be like my using artwork in my layout and copping like it was my own.That�s just not a very personal statement at all.I believe everyone has a talent. Find your talent.Display that which is you.Truly you!

Lyrics, of course are quote worthy. I myself do it all the time.But another person online?�� Another poet or poetess?I�ve never done it without permission and full credit.So what makes people think that they can just kype my words and make layouts?The person that did this using an entry from my other diary quickly changed her layout when I pointed it out by entering another entry on that diary.It was done in a clever way and I didn�t ream her like I at first wanted to.Because my one time friend Joe told me it was an attribute in life to be considered �steal worthy� by another human being.She later tried to say, �I thought you knew�.How would I know?Osmosis?

I fight with myself on this.I have seen my poetry quoted by people that list me in their favorites.That�s a nice thing, so don�t confuse what I am saying.What I am saying is a person who takes my words and makes them their own without any credit or mention of where it�s come from.This has happened to me so many times I can�t even tell you how many.And if I tried to list links I�d be here all damn day doing nothing but that.I wonder how many of my poems are hanging on bulletin boards (I am not being arrogant, I am just stating fact, I have been told by people that they do this!)I have done it myself with other people.But to me, its different to print out a poem someone I admire wrote and keep it for my own use.To kype words and plaster them on your own website or even your wall at home without including the author.( I always include the author so I don�t ever forget myself) is just plain wrong!

I�m not even going to get into copyright infringements and all that bullshit.It just comes down to giving credit where credit is due.Yeah, my picture of where I live on my website was kyped from another site.I never thought much of it cause it�s a pic of the beach.I mean, really, c�mon what makes one picture of the beach anymore than another.But now, I think I�m going to head out there with my own damn digital and take my own pics.Enough said.I gotta practice what I preach and I don�t feel much like giving that twit credit for a stupid beach pic.So I�ll obtain my own.Besides, I know I can get a better pic myself.

All of this talk makes me want to delete my poetry, and then I don�t want to because it�s me.It�s part of me. I would think that I should be able to share without being sabotaged.It�s so hard to know in this situation what�s best.I just know that when I see my words on layouts, it pisses me off only because I�ve been given no credit and it�s like the owner of that diary is saying �I like your words enough to make them mine, but fuck you they�re mine now!�That�s so wrong.

I mean even my layout; I changed it because Lex stopped hosting the images in her design.So the top pic isn�t even from her, and come to think of it, I gotta give credit where credit is due.That top pic was a gift awhile back from ktothac and I�m going to have to put something up there permanently in her honor, because it�s really her genius and not my own.My point being the only part of this layout that has remained the same is the background tables and link placement, nothing else is even about Lex and I didn�t remove credit from her in anyway.She still did the html work. C�mon people give credit where it�s due.Or don�t take my fucking words!It�s not cool in the end.

The only solace I take from this happening is that I am steal worthy and self worthy and I must say things that people relate to.And my statements in this diary do not apply to my personal friends.In that area, I feel that my heart is your heart.I am the most giving friend you will ever have.I have seen a good friend put my words in his profile, (you�re more than welcome to do so V.) That makes me smile.But that�s a friend.If you comehere and you don�t know me, my words are mine.I am so confident that you can find your own way with words.The human language is amazing.I have read things all over the Internet that I wish I had written.But I never pretended that I have.I have no doubt that I have a god given talent.I am grateful for it.On the other hand I can�t design and I can�t do layouts, and I can�t sing�and I can�t�.and so I don�t pretend I can.And I do quote lyrics, I do have my friends poem scrolling across my diary because I am not the only person with a voice and wonderful words to share.But notice I give credit.And I have permission.

Whew�I really had to get that off my chest�.your opinions are welcome.Throw em at me!And if you read this far�one of my other diaries is quixotic-one.�� It is a diary I am very proud of.If you read this far, you deserve to know.Thanks.

-PoeticaL

and another �steal worthy� lyrical quote follows:

Days go by and still i think of you,
days when i couldn't live my life without you,
without you...
without you...
without you...

-Dirty Vegas

11:16 a.m. ::
prev :: next