PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

tellin' her how it is

Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005

I told her I was out of work due to surgery and then got an email from my best girl friend Carla�..been pals since I was 14.That makes 21 years now�.

 

 

>From: "Carla" <c******@******.ca>

>To: <[email protected]>

>Date: Wed, 6 Jul 2005 13:23:05 -0400

>

>

>

>

>Gall bladder surgery?Why the hell did you go and do that for??? Sucker

>for punishment?

 

My reply��I always break up the swear words so her work server doesn�t detect my wickedness.

 

 

 

Carla,

 

I had to have the surgery.I went into the hospital ER on Thursday with pain so bad it felt like I was dying or something.Sucked bad.They admitted me.I had gone to the doctor the day before and they did a sonogram of my chest and stomach areas and found that my gallbladder was full of stones and had to come out.I had no choice.

 

They did the surgery through 4 incisions and using those tiny tools and stuff.I have 4 staples in my belly button and then 3 separate ones scattered over my belly.

 

Funny enough when they moved me from the gurney to a bed a nurse said, "oh nice you have a tattoo!!!"At the time I thought, "lady shut the fu ck up you know...I'm in pain!!!"She goes on and on saying, "Are you going to get more of them someday?"I said, "Yes I'm going to get one that says "I hate hospitals as soon as I can!"She didn't even laugh.

 

I was in the hospital until July 4th and they actually put me out twice.Once to shove a tube down my throat and remove a stone from the duct between your gall bladder and liver.....and to check out the situation prior to the next days surgery.The whole ordeal was bad and I�m glad to be out of there.

 

I'm at home for the rest of the week.The staples come out on Monday July 11th.I have bruises up and down both arms and one hand from where they put IV's in and out of me like a human pincushion.My legs need shaved.I peeled my acrylic nails off while in the hospital because it had been 3 weeks since I got them filled in and they were practically falling off.So my fingernails are haggard and gross.My pedicure needs redone and my toenail polish is peeling away in a grotesque way.My legs need shaved and I haven't fixed my hair since last Thursday.

 

I have taken several half assed showers whereby I try not to get my staples wet.Yah they tell you not to get 7 staples scattered across your belly wet.Doh.So be a stinkmeister instead?bluck....

 

Can you tell I'm cranky???

 

Thank god I had insurance because unlike you Cannuckians up thar' we must have insurance or they can send us home unattended.Thank god it's decent insurance because I don't think I'll get bills in the thousands.

 

I can't wait to get a manicure, a pedicure, a haircut and and and and it would be great if I could sleep on my stomach all curled up to my pillow rather than flat on my back like a stiff board that wakes up in the same position in agony.Yah that'd be really nice.

 

Thankfully I had the following:

 

1. Rick (when a man helps you dress, eat, shower annnnnd put on your own ^@^$*@ panties because you can't quite bend over that far.....he deserves a steak dinner!)

 

2. Insurance (explained that one above!)

 

3. Good doctors that wore turbans and spoke rather decent English considering.....

 

4. A hospital within 5 minutes of home with very liberal visiting hours so Rick could come in and see me at 9 p.m. if he wanted to.

 

5. Clean unripped, undamaged underwear on when I had to drive into the ER.Whew....you know how that's always your biggest fear.

 

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh I'm done venting.......where's my dam ned get well card now????Be a pal already!!!

 

Kristy

 

p.s. it'd be nice to cough without wincing too.....that'd be really nice.

1:15 p.m. ::
prev :: next