PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

unexpected romance?

Friday, Jun. 28, 2002
This morning I was singing bad songs along with my car radio. Really bad songs. A Juice Newton song. If you don�t know who she is�grrr I hate you for being so young. I was singing her and then I actually sang that Whitney Houston song �I will always love you�. Man I hate that song. But I was singing these songs as though my life depended on it. Like a bad scene out of an eighties movie. This one guy I work with that happens to have the same name as my son (this is a bone of contention too!!) says that I have an eighties hairstyle. Maybe I�m stuck in the eighties. Maybe I�ll go shave my head this weekend and then sing Ani DiFranco songs at the top of my lungs. Wait, I�m not gay. I just don�t fit in anywhere. I have finally decided to get a tattoo related to my song. I gotta find a designer to draw me something original. But I�m gonna do it. I�m thinking the back of my neck up near my hairline. A good place since I have long eighties hair. Wait I�m shaving my head�so�anyone out there collect �eighties� hair? I�ll send it.

Last night I broke down and bought a copy of that Divine Ya Ya book. I couldn�t help myself. It was $5 and I just want to know if the book is better than the movie because I totally loved that sap filled female hormone laden movie. The lady at the bookstore told me that she read it and that they left out a lot of stuff in the movie. She mentioned a particular scene but I don�t remember what she said.

Last night after work, husband called me and asked me if I wanted to go to the new Macaroni Grill that just opened on our side of town. We get there with �Bucky� in tow and they�re packed like smelly sardines everywhere in a rusty can. The hostess without the mostest tells me that there�s an hour and 25 minute wait. We went to Bennigan�s instead and got a free appetizer because as the manager put it �my cook dropped your crab cakes on the floor so now they will be free.� I said, �you�re joking right�you just don�t know how to communicate very well�right? Because I know you�re not actually telling me that because my crab cakes have dirt on them that now they will be free?� I was joking and laughing and he didn�t think I was too happy. Doh! So then he says, �no there�s no dirt on your crab cakes� To which I said, �so if there�s no dirt then they are free?� Then he said, �My cook dropped your original crab cakes and because it�s now taking longer for your appetizer your appetizer will be free of charge. To which I replied, �oh well in that case take your time with my dinner too.� He had NO sense of humor. Why be in a public friendly industry with no personality?

I�m gonna buy this book. �A Thousand Days in Venice: An Unexpected Romance by Marlena De Blasi�

Yup�I�m gonna. I can�t go to Venice and I don�t see any Unexpected Romance in my near future. Wait, I guess she didn�t either�.that�s how it works. Either way..this is my next book. YaYa will have to wait.

I just faced the fact that I can�t sing along to my own song. I just can�t do it. It feels like verbal masturbation. Like I think I�m all that. And anyone that knows me knows that�s the opposite of the truth. Complete opposite. Maybe I�ll play my song while I get that tattoo. They say the back of the neck is a tough place to get a tattoo. That it hurts like hell-o! I still have no image. I�m thinking I just want words. �can you become a part of me and ride across the galaxy?� If you�re heard my song and there�s a catch phrase you like in there�lemme know�. Yeah um�ok �I�m done talking about that.

Don�t eat Captain Crunch�read captainron instead. No cavaties, no raw-mouth syndrome. Just ships and water�

I can�t wait �til July 12th. How about you?

I'm outta this working joynt at noon. Wahoo... Wait...I'm just goin' home or something. NO I'M NOT. I'm going "winesap" color shopping.
-PoeticaL


and i have never been afraid of losing
and i have never wanted love to be a chain
i only know that when i'm with you
you're my sunshine, you're my rain
the sweetest thing i've ever known
is loving you
-Juice Newton
9:07 a.m. ::
prev :: next