PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

vox

Sunday, Nov. 03, 2002



Today I wrote 1,725 words and I went to the beach. Bucky watched Glitter for the thousandth gozillioneth time. I read Vox by Nicholson Baker at the beach while watching Bucky row his little inflatable boat with that one giant paddle like a pro.

Tonight I washed tons of dirty clothes and ran out of hangers to hang them all on. We had chilli. I am going to go back to reading Shampoo Planet. I can�t believe I read Vox in a few hours. This book is basically about one large telephone conversation. Actually about phone sex. But then again, not. It�s definitely about sex, but its something else too. Its two people connecting and being honest with each other. And that�s refreshing. I paid $5.50 for this book and tomorrow I�ll trade it for something else. That�s the beauty of such great stores in this area. I really liked the book because the flow of the conversation reminds me of someone I used to talk to over the phone. Not the sex part, because phone sex is just�.its just not all that.

I was just thinking that I can sorta go celebrate finishing this novel when Blue Joules releases their 2nd CD. How about that? I mean really�its like two success�s could happen in one day. Sweet!

Last night I watched �Sleeping with the Enemy�. We�re watching all of our movies until I can get caught up on the cable bill and get it turned back on next week. I love this movie. I have seen it thousands of times by now and I never tire of certain scenes. That house she moves into is my dream house. Simple country house with a big front porch with a swing. Not to mention the cute artsy guy that lives next door. Ya know, the one that takes her to the stage and has her sit in a swing while the stars sparkle and it snows.

Bucky is watching Jerry Mcquire now. That little boy Ray is the cutest thing goin. Whew..no more Glitter. I�m going to go back to writing my novel. I�m on a roll and this prick of a character I�ve created is just dying to do horrid things with words.

Strange thing is, I don�t miss cable like I thought I would. At first I thought this was going to suck. I rather like it myself.

Ut oh�. a sex scene in Jerry Mcquire�.gotta go cover the kids eyes. Yipes..

-PoeticaL

�Whoo! How long have we been talking?�
�Hours and Hours�
�Hours and hours and hours,� she said. �My mouth is chapped. Too much making out.�
�Is your voice sore?�
�It really is. Whoo! Gee, I�m going to have to call in sick again. I�ll sleep all day, mm, sounds delightful. The hiss on the phone is very loud now, isn�t it? That companionable hiss. It�s always louder at the end of the conversations.�
�Oh, is it the end already?� he said. �Couldn�t we just fade out somehow, talking and talking? I can�t think of a better way to invest my life savings. Not that I�m much of a saver.�
�You�re quite the telephoner, though.�
�You are too! I mean it! I think really this is one of the nicest conversations I�ve ever had.�


- Vox � Nicholson Baker

Nothing seems to help
Nothing seems to work
Nothing is as beautiful
I�m old enough to take
all the blame
For all the mistakes
All the games and
All the faces
I�m bleeding by myself
But I�m okay
Our Lady Peace
8:55 p.m. ::
prev :: next