PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

1st anniversary

Monday, Nov. 27, 2006
We celebrated our first wedding anniversary by doing a whole lot of nothing. I took today off to add an additional day off to my Thanksgiving vacation. We went to Randy and Chrissy�s for Thanksgiving where I promptly did not take my camera. It was a nice time, but we did sit for about 4 hours and didn�t eat until 9 p.m., which would have been greatly improved had someone told us the overall plans. But alas no one did. Keith was with me for the last 4 days and we had a great time spending all of his 14th birthday money he received from Rick and I. Between me, Rick and my grandma the kid had $230 to spend. He�s all about buying his own clothes and he�s quite particular so I just let him do as he pleased. It was nice to spend that much time having him around. Last night after he left I realized how empty things sometimes feel around here. No mess on my bathroom counter, no clothes strewn about on the floor and couch and no real hint that I have a child at all. It�s an odd feeling to go from being full time Mom for days on end to �.to�.silence�.abyss�absence. I�ve gotten used to it, or so I think�and then it happens again and I�m hit like a ton of bricks again. It�s hard to explain.

I�m downloading happy Beatles songs and enjoying the sunshine today. I�ve been so extremely tired and busy lately with school that I rarely have time to write and when I do I opt to flip channels on the TV in a comatose state instead. It�s horrible really. Recently I was thinking about how much time I used to devote and spend writing lyrics, poetry and fiction. And now�now�nothing. It�s sad really. I�m grateful if I can manage to shove my Ipod headphones on at work and enjoy music during the workday. I do manage to spend at least an hour a day reading for pleasure. Currently I�m in an economics class that is kicking my ass. I�m getting an A so far, but the content is unfamiliar to me. I can say I loath GDP, Supply and Demand and economic indicators. Gah..suckage. I don�t plan on working in economics but I suppose it�s god to know these things to be an overall knowledgeable person. Knowledge is power, but power to do what with economics? Not sure.

I really want to tackle �Infinite Jest� soon. It�s been nagging me. I was thinking that it would be a great thing to finally overcome this book. It�s not thaaat big. Ok ok so it is massive and scary to me. I have trouble holding the damn thing let alone reading it too. But Carla convinced me (almost) that if she can manage a book that is 100 pages shorter I can surely overcome this fear of this book. I

So part of celebrating the first anniversary��we pulled our frozen wedding cake out and ate a piece. It was surprisingly good. Where does this tradition of eating one�s wedding cake a year later come from? I�ve been told it�s for good luck. I can tell you that I didn�t even like, remember or eat much of my first wedding cake. It was yellow, bought by his mother and was hideously gross. This year when I pulled out the cake I got quite choked up because it was nearly perfect and it was like pulling that day out of a memory box and rejoicing in it. It was great and I�m glad I did it.

Wedding cake a year later....missing the topper...

7:44 p.m. ::
prev :: next