PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

I am perfect the way I am...my own woman!

Thursday, May. 09, 2002
Sometimes I�m not a nice person. Other times I�m a total bitch. But lately I�m just gut-wrenchingly honest about my opinions and feelings. And I think my head is so much clearer for it. I don�t have to weigh out my options before I speak. I speak from my soul and be it right, wrong or ugly, it is me. And no one else. How many people do you think there are out there in this world that are nothing but pretenders. Saying and doing what will be acceptable to others.

I am who I am. I�m not a quitter. And I�m definitely not the weakling I once thought I was. I am outspoken and raw. I am just me. I say what I want and it doesn�t much matter to me anymore if anyone agrees or disagrees. Get mad, get whiney, get whatever. I am me�who the fuck are you?

I used to fear my true self. I used to think it wasn�t good enough. I have clung to the sides of cliffs by my mere fingertips, I have outrun herds of elephants and I have escaped ferocious fires. Maybe not in the physical sense, but in the mental sense I have.

I never popped a zanax or a prozac and I�m not on a liquid lithium diet. So I must have done all of this by mere mental strength. I am proud of myself. I have overcome and fought for the things that matter to me the most.

I will never take off my gloves in this ring called life. I will never apologize for who I am. If I am deserted by someone then he/she was the loser who couldn�t see the strength and beauty of the strong woman that I am!

I know there are those that do see it, thank you! Those that are blind, fuck you. I�m not mad at anyone, I�m just putting myself first from now on. I write for me. Not you. Or you...or you....or you...

-PoeticaL


I AM WOMAN HEAR ME ROAR

I am woman, hear me roar
In numbers too big to ignore
And I know too much
To go back an' pretend
'Cause I've heard it all before
And I've been down there on the floor
No one's ever gonna
Keep me down again

Oh yes I am wise
But it's wisdom born of pain
Yes, I've paid the price
But look how much I gained
If I have to, I can do anything
I am strong
I am invincible
I am woman

You can bend but never break me
'Cause it only serves to make me
More determined
To achieve my final goal
And I come back even stronger
Not a novice any longer
'Cause you've deepened
The conviction in my soul

Oh yes I am wise
But it's wisdom born of pain
Yes, I've paid the price
But look how much I gained
If I have to, I can do anything
I am strong
I am invincible
I am woman

I am woman watch me grow
See me standing toe to toe
As I spread my lovin' arms
Across the land
But I'm still an embryo
With a long long way to go
Until I make my
Brother understand

Oh yes I am wise
But it's wisdom born of pain
Yes, I've paid the price
But look how much I gained
If I have to
I can face anything
I am strong
I am invincible
I am woman
Oh, I am woman
I am invincible
I am strong
Ray Burton - Helen Reddy
12:54 p.m. ::
prev :: next