PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

MFA....fyi

Thursday, Dec. 05, 2002
I�m so sick this morning that I have more Alka Seltzer cold medicine in my system than I do blood. I actually went to sleep last night at 9:30 p.m.!!! I am going to work, but who knows for how long� I feel like road kill. Now onto my entry�*cough* *sniff*

I got this in an email from a friend who shall remain nameless, but lets just say I know heknows for sure what he is talking about.

I was peepin' yer life tonight and have an fyi for you: an MFA in creative writing is 2 years, not 6. Unless you're getting three of them. Or unless you're adding the 4 years of undergrad to the equation. Or unless you're a really, really, really slow reader.

I suppose now that there are different types of reasons to acquire an MFA degree, I still think Captain Ron had the right idea in my guestbook. But then again, any education is not a bad thing, it�s just when you have the degree what are you doing with it? And if I could remember what �someone� else told me about his MFA I�d post that too. It made sense, it really did.

Lastly, I never said I was well versed at this MFA thing. In fact the chat I posted I was actually inquiring about it. Of course Mike doesn�t have his MFA so he was probably the wrong person to ask. That�s the glorious thing about having a diary�.I am being educated along the way for FREE. Would that be called a �DFA� �Diarist of Fine Articulation� Ha�in two days I�ve been told my grammar sucks and I spell wrong and now�I have no clue what an MFA is. Gee�I�m glad I�m not getting paid for this gig.

In closing I would like to say that it�s strange to get an email from someone and realize that anyone can come �peep� at your life at any given time even though you CAN�T peep back at his or hers. Either way, I got some more answers. If I recollect right, if you go to school for 6 years you can then teach something or other � there was a legit reason, now I just can�t remember what I was told. Perhaps 6 years helps one�s memory capacity? *grins*

If anyone else has some information about MFA degrees, please feel free to inform me� Oh and to the person that was peepin in on my life...Thanks!!

-PoeticaL
8:00 a.m. ::
prev :: next