PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

The Rules of Attraction

Sunday, Oct. 13, 2002


�Having sex with a girl and she doesn�t have an orgasm is like sending a question in a letter, what�s the point?�
- Sean


Forgive me if I�m not remembering the quote word for word�.but it was something like that and it was and is great. �The Rules of Attraction� was brilliant as far as I�m concerned. But I read the book. I would have to say that if you didn�t read the book you�re not going to be so taken with the film. I think that Brett Easton Ellis is brilliant and I have yet to see where anyone has ever really made a movie out of a novel and gave it full justice for me. I am a word freak. Yes I love films. But my first love is fiction. You can�t make me love a film about a body of fiction that I love. I just don�t think its possible. Unless you are Roger Avery, this director.

There is so much to say about this film. The special effects of backward motion are great. I could buy this on DVD just to watch that stuff over and over again. I was enthralled with the simplicity of backward moving scenes that were then shown forward moving. This movie reminded me of Requiem for a Dream. (I think it�s self evident by my last layout and this layout that I loved Requiem for a Dream. I never read that book. Every time I pick it up and intend to, I just can�t bring myself to do it. Someday..) It reminded me of Requiem in the way in which a lot of it is filmed in split scenes and interesting ways.

Someday when I publish my book. (I intend to self publish and self promote..etc..) I would love a layout that is interesting. If The Rules�was a book, then the layout was spectacular. Enough split screens, and interesting shots to make it great but not so many as to make it annoying.

Moving onto the music. Being a child of the eighties I was put into this great mood simply by the musical choices.

I liked it. But then again I know the premise of the characters and the real jist of it from reading the book. The person that went with me didn�t read the book and upon leaving the theater he said, �that shit sucked, I wanted to get up and leave after twenty five minutes but I know you love Ellis so I wasted my time for you.� So�if you don�t love Ellis and you never read the book and you just want to see a bunch of pretty people have lots of sex and see some great cinema tricks, then go see the movie.

I�m not going to reimburse your money if you hate it. If you don�t like my review abilities then read this or that

And if you really want to have a good time just buy this!

My next purchase will be this!

oh just bite the big one and go see it!
AD BANNER: Shootartconceptor
3:11 a.m. ::
prev :: next