PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

Wilson - poem

Saturday, Jan. 05, 2002
Castaway is being shown on HBO and I had to dig this goofy-ass poem out of my files. Aligned to the left for your viewing pleasure!

Wilson

I�m going to buy a volleyball
Yeah that�s what I�m going to do
A �Wilson� of my very own
Someone to talk to instead of you

I could paint him a pretty picture
Using the blood of my soul
I�ll tell him all my problems
He�ll make me completely whole

I know he won�t say much
And that is still quite okay
I will just imagine that he
Is someone intelligent that way

I�ll give him the perfect hairdo
And he�ll be my forever friend
He won�t do what you do
He�ll be there for me past the end

It won�t matter if he loses air
Or has a hole in his head
I�ll pretend that you are there
When you run away instead

I�ll chatter to him all night long
About the hurt I feel inside
I know that he will make me strong
He won�t run away and hide

�Wilson� will be my salvation
When I have nowhere to go
I�ll tell him all my deepest thoughts
The ones you don�t care to know

I�ll paint him a friendly smile
That no torrential rains can flood
I�ll use permanent magic marker
Cause I�m now fresh out of blood

I suppose it�s all a fallacy
To think I need someone
But fact is in reality
�Wilson� can be anyone

So now I lay me down to sleep
And as I clutch a volleyball
Now I will be able to freely weep
When you don�t hear me at all

January 17, 2001
-PoeticaL
10:17 p.m. ::
prev :: next