PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

alice in wonderland

Saturday, Aug. 23, 2003
My online friend Bryan and I have been discussing the fact that I have read tons of books, but few classics and if I enroll in college like I want to then I�ll be behind on reading lists even though I�ve read hundreds of books. We jointly decided to challenge each other and this is how it went. If you�d like to read along and play along just drop me a line and I�ll be happy to include you in my quest for more classics on my �have read� list. Special thanks to krimsonlake for further pushing me�.those books will be read as well.

Bry: alive in wonderland?

Me: lol, no I meant alice

Bry: oh ok

Bry: sounds good...it's online for free too

Me: exactly

Me: but we have to have rules

Me: or neither of us will read it

Me: how about we try to read one chapter per week and you can ask me 5 questions and i'll ask you 5 questions and we'll trade them on a agreed upon time

Bry: ok

Me: ok so when shall we start?

Me: oh and.....just for kicks...whomever clearly is not reading along each week...will be the WRONG party for life

Me: if some circumstances..like death...or blindness do occur for the week......it is up to the other party to humanly excuse the guilty non reading party

Bry: what does that mean, to be the wrong party?

Me: forever WRONG

Me: um...er meaning the other reading party is forever RIGHT

Me: lol

Bry: about what though?

Me: anything :-)

Me: ain't that grand?

Me: lol

Me: you better read is all I can say

Bry: ohhhhhhhh

Me: lol

Me: perhaps we should both read the same version for free online somewhere? do you know where Alice can be found?

Bry: had it bookmarked....lemme see if i still have it

Me: k

Bry: http://www.literature.org/authors/carroll-lewis/

Me: ok so it looks to me like we have 12 weeks of this

Me: think we can successfully read this book together?

Bry: i can read it, sure

Me: ok...and we are reading alices adventures in wonderland and not through the looking glass...right?

Bry: right

Me: kewlness

Me: i'm all for it

Me: we might actually do something constructive with our online friendship eh?

Bry: lol

Me: I say we start and work from Sunday to Sunday

Bry: it's always contructive kwisty!

Me: meaning next sunday we exchange questions....and begin chapter 2

Me: <---likes to take over all projects she comes up with

Me: lol

Bry: how about 3 chapters a week?

Me: OMG

Me: a challenge?

Me: did you already read this damned book?

Bry: not yet.....not all of it anyways

Me: ok i'll let you have a headstart and we can do 3 chapters a week

Me: ok?

Bry: ok

Me: but that means 5 questions per chapter totalling 15

Me: I am not going to be duped into reading a flipping classic alone

Me: lol

Bry: ok

Me: if this works out well you can pick the next book k?

Bry: would it be cheating if i read the whole book in a week?

Me: lol

Me: no

Me: just so you are indeed reading the book

Me: and can answer the questions properly

Me: and do not own a cliff notes and are honestly not cheating

Bry: ok

Me: its a deal then

Bry: deal

Me: ok happy reading

Bry: let's shake on it

Me: <----*snickers* at fact that she got a truck owning texas dude to read alice

Me: *extends hand* *shakes*

Bry: good...it's a done deal

Me: yup

Me: done

Me: you didn't shake

Me: lol

Me: cheater

Bry: yes i did

Me: no you said lets shake on it

Me: then you didn't

Bry: *extends hand* *shakes*

Me: ok now remember ....you have to write me 15 questions so you might want to work on those as you read

Bry: *squeezes kwisty's little hand*

Me: teeheee

Me: *ouch*

1:58 p.m. ::
prev :: next