PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

you should ban the bible....it would serve you better!

Sunday, Mar. 12, 2006

My son has recently come across the love of reading.Of course when he asks me for books, I am completely wide open in thought as to what titles are okay for him to read and I refuse to stop him from reading most anything.I of course would not encourage XXX rated materials and I would not buy him Serial Killing for Young Dummies under any circumstances.

However, his whacked out bible-thumping father seems to think it�s ok to segregate his reading even though he led him into believing that marital adultery is just A-okay by setting the example for him.

Tonight I bought him two books and I lent him one of my books.The two I bought for him are:

1.Go Ask Alice by Anonymous

2.Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

The one he borrowed:

Crank by Ellen Hopkins

Now I refuse to get into this issue too deeply except to say that most books that are located right in the YA section of the bookstore are okay for children to read.I remember my own mother buying me a copy of �Are you there god it�s me Margaret?� by Judy Blume but refusing to allow me to read �Forever by the same Judy Blume�.

Yes Forever is a coming of age book all about Ralph and god forbid that teenagers that are just finding out that they are sexual beings should read a book about Ralph.No, my son doesn�t need to read Forever at age 13, but at age 15 I need to accept the fact that sex will become a part of his life in the next few years and if a book sparks questions and seeking of real information, then hallelujah for that.

I swear if my ex-husband takes these books off of him I will sit down and read those books out loud to a tape recorder and give my son the recordings on a CD to play in his headphones thereby saying a big fat F you to my ex-husband.

I think it�s further hard for me to take his desire to ban reading materials from my son when he gets up on a Saturday morning and leaves the house leaving no note to tell same said child where he is.But a book will lead him astray and leaving him alone to do as he pleases won�t?

Feeee uck these issues piss me off.

You cannot ban children�s books from your children because they are about real issues of this world.If you really are concerned about those issues then put aside your own needs and spend time talking to your kids and telling them yourself about life.

I will buy these 3 books and any other book my son is interested in save for those titles I�ve mentioned here already�. until I�m blue in the face.Like it or not I�m his mother and YOU (mr fat flipping cheater) will not stop me from providing him with reality and reading materials until you give up on thinking you can control this aspect too.

I especially get angry because Mr. Ex Asshole, when�s the last time you read a fucking book anyways?Just when???And the books your trying to deny our son�..do you really even have a fucking clue about what they are about??

Yah�.I didn�t think so!�you�re an ex-convict (but hey lets not let our child read about the hell�s of jail�) you�re an ex-drug user (but hey it would be stupid to let him read about the hell�s of crank..) and you�re a sex addict (but lets not tell him about obstaining??)You suck!!!

You�re the same one that broke these commandments most of them several times, Jesus has a good memory and so do I.

  1. Thou shalt have no other gods before Me.
  2. Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth: thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them.
  3. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.
  4. Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days shalt thou labor and do all thy work: but the seventh day is the Sabbath of the Lord thy God.
  5. Honor thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the Lord thy God giveth thee.
  6. Thou shalt not kill.
  7. Thou shalt not commit adultery.
  8. Thou shalt not steal.
  9. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.
  10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbor's wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbor's.

Note to my readers: You really should never covet your neighbor�s ass�� Jesus might just give you what you wish for as punishment�..

Don�t think that�s possible?Look at my son�s bitch of a stepmother�who thinks it�s ok to smack a child, oh but it�s ok because banning �so called bad� books is a good parental thing to do�..and so is crawling out of your bedroom into some one elses�.that�s all good too.

Yes�.I�m pissed�.very�..banning books from teenagers because they are about things that your teenagers will face�..flat out STUPID.You�ve broken 70% of the commandments yourself single handedly�but keep wearing that Jesus shirt and perhaps you�ll still go to hell but you�ll be dressed in cool clothing at least.

A false witness shall not be unpunished, and he that speaketh lies shall not escape. Proverbs 19:5

7:07 p.m. ::
prev :: next