PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

"bonds" and the friendships they hold together

Friday, Nov. 17, 2006
First before I get into my topic�.�huge kudo�s to my hott husband for getting a hair cut�.not just any hair cut but the haircut that ruins marital panties around these here parts�.I love you and you�re sexy as hell with that haircut honey!� ok..now back to regular business�


I consider myself to be very fortunate in the friendship(s) area, even if my husband thinks its unfortunate. I don�t have this big gaggle of friends but the one�s that I do have are special. They end up being long term and they somehow outlast most people�s friendships too. I�ve been friends with my friend Carla since I was 14, suffice it to say that is a long long time. I think she�s currently just pleased that I�m almost done reading The Power of One because she�s been on me for years to read that book and I never have. Finally�.I am�which proves you can never say never. Friends make you do things you wouldn�t normally do but then are glad you did.

I just celebrated a 1 yr anniversary with the ladies in my book club. This is meaningful to me because I set out to make this happen and I refused to fear being friends with women and I have accomplished this. The experience of it continues to be enlightening and I am blessed by my interactions with them every month. We have read some great novels but more importantly I have overcome some deep seeded personal fears.

Sometimes I don�t keep track and then one day I count the years and I am amazed at how old I am�er�I mean how long I�ve been friends with some people. Who can tell me who this is? If you�re a long time reader�you�ll have a better chance. This is a friend of mine, for whom I�ve been friends with since my son was about 6 or 7 years old. I love my friend��he never fails to make me smile from afar.

He recently told me he was reading my diary here�.after a long time away. I forget that I put my entire life on the net sometimes but I do think it�s a nice thing when it brings my friends closer.

I didn�t ask for his permission but then again you can�t really see his face�.so hopefully he will realize I�m simply reminding myself of how super oober lucky I am to know him. He�s served as guardian angel, friend and supernatural overseer of good in my life for so many years I�m having trouble counting them. I love him�.and our friendship. I especially love that when I see his name in my email I know ahead of time I will smile�..friendship is so priceless�so undervalued in the world and so very appreciated in my life.

When I think back to where I worked, what I was doing and what was happening in my life when I met this particular friend I am shocked and amazed at how very much my life has changed since then. It�s completely different. I know that his life has had changes as well, but there�s one constant throughout all of those changes. He�s my friend. He makes me smile. He�s someone I�m still thrilled to know. He�s getting married soon to what I hear is a great girl and I couldn�t be happier for him. I�m working on convincing him to blog because he�s quite entertaining�and talented.

And if you do end up reading this..thanks for all the countless years of being my bud.



Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

4:26 p.m. ::
prev :: next