PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

book dork

Wednesday, Jun. 22, 2005
I love love love it when someone messages me, emails me or leaves me a note recommending a book. I went to IHOP the other day for lunch. I actually like IHOP and there�s one close to where I work when on the Tampa side of the bay so I like to drop by there and grab some cheap bad caf� coffee, pull out a book and read.

The same 4 waitresses work there in the afternoons and yesterday one of them asked me how many books I read on average. I suppose this question was ignited by the fact that I�m always sitting alone in there reading. I told her I once read 52 in one year and have probably done the same thing before without counting but that lately I had drastically cut down on my reading pleasure because of school.

She went on to tell me that she recently bought a Dr. Phil book because she LOVES him. (gag) and that she hasn�t yet opened it. (so much for love eh?)

I can�t imagine being a non-reading person and yet I have found many of them in my time on this earth. I grew up with two of them for siblings. She asked me where I found my love for books, I was a goon and told her �Oh�well�at the bookstore where else?� She laughed�THAT was funny? :-P

I read a lot of writer�s blogs, I swoon over the yearly Tod Goldberg recommendation lists like a fiend waiting for a crack rock, I read book magazines (tho� they barely ever remain in circulation because of all you NON-readers out there!!) I love the bookslut site and have a few review sites I absolutely covet.

But when someone I actually know and admire who is talented and smart and artistic recommends a book to me�.well consider it bought and on it�s way to my home. (yah ok so ebay is my friend)

The waitress at IHOP told me she wished she were a reader too, I told her, �that�s the great thing books don�t hold grudges so they�ll welcome you with open pages.�

Yah I�m a book dork. And yah�devian you rock for �insisting� the way you have. Thanks!
10:23 p.m. ::
prev :: next