PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

books books books...can't get enough

Saturday, Oct. 15, 2005
Lately I�ve grown bored with writing in my diary. It�s as though I�ve spent so many years struggling and changing and now I am on the right path. I now see the light. It�s like most of the years I spent writing in my diary were years of misery and now I sometimes have a hard time relating to why I�m doing this when things are good. But then I had a conversation with a friend and mentioned that I really like having a gaging point in which I can look back on my life and remember where I came from. So many years of getting comments from readers that said, �You�re all messed up!� and even worse�.and it�s been a long long time since I get that sort of email. And that�s ok. I surely was confused and all over the road for a long long time. I still run into brick walls with some things, but I know myself so much better than I ever have before. There�s room for improvement, but then again if anyone thinks that there is not room for improvement, then they are just flat out in denial.



I am not saying I am going to stop writing, just that I am re-evaluating why I do what I do here. I know that I love having input from people that have something positive to offer in the way of advise. Constructive criticism is ok too. I just don�t agree with people running amuck on the Internet exploiting people for their own agenda. I think some odd competition breaks out so often where people want to have popularity and be loved by the masses.



I have made friends this way, as much as you can be a friend with someone you�ve never met. These interactions can serve to create good interactions with other�s to learn more about how people live in other states, countries, etc. I think it�s a broadening of the mind and how we view the world.



The thing I love the absolute most about having this outlet is talking about books. I�m a book freak and I love to document what I�ve written, bought, and how I change due to the books I have read. Recently I have wanted to read more education type of books. More cooking style books. I love travel narratives because when they�re done well, they serve as a vacation for the soul that is only $14.99. Now that�s a great and affordable vacation.



In the last two weeks I have somehow managed to work fulltime, do extra stuff regarding work, do all of my normal schoolwork, implement daily exercise into my day and read a few books. It amazes me what I have been able to accomplish with my time. I am really proud of myself.



First I read�

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

This book was just an easy read, entertaining and with such a honest voice and narrative. I loved every page of this book. It was close to being a chick lit book and reminded me of Jennifer Weiner, but it wasn�t a Jennifer book. I really liked the characters and how well they were detailed and written. I give this my book expert thumbs up�twice.



Next came�.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

This book was also a fast read. It is not a fiction book. Julie decided to make every recipe in a Julia Child�s recipe book in a years time. Julie had a blog on salon.com and then it turned into this book. I wish wish wish I had known this and been able to read her adventures on a daily basis. It would have been so exciting wondering if she was able to do it or not instead of already knowing she did it. I read this book in two nights after exercising, studying and eating dinner. Two nights!!! I had a difficult time putting it down and fell asleep almost stuck in the spine one of those nights. This story reads like a personal blog for sure. It was pure entertainment. It made me wonder what I was doing with all of my own time if this girl could come home nightly and tackle French cooking. I giggled through the chapter about removing marrow from a bone. It was disgusting but I could so imagine myself setting out on some mission like this and ending up in this situations. I once read 52 books in one year and it really changed me. Knowing it could be done. I thought it was easy, but so so many non-reading sort of people were flabbergasted at my accomplishment. I loved this book. Absolutely enjoyed every page. Julia is quirky and fun and real. I also learned a lot about Julia Child�s and that was great too.



Then I decided to pick up this one�.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Again I loved this book. This was a story I could somewhat relate to but in an inside out backwards kind of way. The main character happens to be the �other woman�. I disliked her throughout the book because she was a self-proclaimed homewrecker. This book is about her struggles to love her new husband�s child from the marriage she broke up. She doesn�t do such a great job. I loved the stepson William and his character is so well developed you wish you could go find this child and spend time with him yourself. All in all I loved this book as well.



Now what am I going to read? I have to decide. It�s always hard for me to decide because I buy so many books, own so many books and own a lot I haven�t read and yet still buy the upcoming books I hear so much about. If I could somehow be a professional reader for a living I�d be the happiest girl alive. There�s just not a lot of money in book reviewing so I realize I keep doing this diary thing because this is my favorite part. Writing about books that I�ve read. These entries are the one�s I most enjoy and I don�t care if anyone else does. I just love putting these entries together even if they take me over an hour to do.



I have decided�.I am going to read this�.
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us



Grabbed it in the bookstore because I absolutely fell in love with the cover�.I still love. It�s about a long distance love affair. Ahhh a love story� :-)
12:52 p.m. ::
prev :: next