PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

cracked in half

Monday, Dec. 18, 2006
Remember how I just got a new laptop? Uh�yah�well it was about 92 days old or something. I put it down on the coffee table to go make love to the husband (hey my diary is nothing if not truthful�.!!) and when I came back it was on the floor. I suspect that Chloe was running about the joint in a frenzy because she does that when we make love. She runs rampant like she can�t stand it or like she�s jealous or like she is a malcontent of some sort. Weird. Either way I came back later to find it on the floor. But it had already been turned off so I picked it up and set it down on the side table.

The next day I never turned the laptop on because I�m not an online student right now. I�m a dreaded on ground Math taking student. But yesterday I attempted to turn it on and half the screen is gone. Meaning it�s blacked out right down the center and to the right. The other half is perfectly ok, which is really goofy. I�m grateful that I can salvage my pictures, files and music and e-books because the laptop itself is fine and when you hook it up to a regular monitor you can access everything and I can burn it all to CD, etc. Whew. Also I don�t have much on there in only 90 days.

But then I looked at Bestbuy.com on my husband�s pc and found that they were selling a nice Toshiba laptop for $400. Cheap! So I ran there. The guy told me that he had one left. So I agree to buy it. He sells me a few other accessories and then we get to the register and he tells me �Oh I don�t have it..this is the wrong model.� Then he proceeds to try to sell me a $700 laptop. Say what? That�s nearly twice the price. So I shifted myself into bitch mode and took a gooney fit. The guy freaked out and went and got someone else. That someone else got snooty with me and said, �What do you want me to do�give you a free laptop?...he made an honest mistake!� To which I replied, �Well I didn�t come in here asking for a hand out, I came in for your advertised laptop and was told you had it, then I was sold some other items for that item as though you REALLY HAD that item. And where I work if I tell someone that tuition is a certain amount and I end up having made a honest mistake I have to honor that amount that came out of my mistaken mouth.� He was flabbergasted within two minutes of my discussion and asked me if I wanted to talk to the store manager�to which I said, �I�d like to talk to someone smarter than you, is he smarter than you?� He went to get him. (ha! I guess that was a yes answer!)

The store manager guy shows up�we have the same dumb conversation about mistakes and being misled and the �customer is always right� and he called around to see if any other stores might have the $400 Toshiba. No go. :-( So then he tries to sell me the $700 laptop. To which I say �I came in here to buy a $400 laptop, your guy said he had it�.then he doesn�t have it and you want to now get another $300 from me??� So we finally came to the agreement that he would sell me a $700 Gateway (similar only better than my 90 day old cracked up one and the next lowest priced one they have) for $500 and out the door I go.

Ok ok so I paid $100 more than I wanted to but I got a much better computer with lots more features than even the one I bought 90 days ago, the screen is one inch bigger (and we all know that even one inch makes a big difference�) It was a combo of Rick�s poker winnings, my Christmas money and some savings. Rick gave me $200 towards getting a new one. (The boy can play Texas No Hold�em like a pro!)

The only bad news in all of this is I am still paying for the broken one. But that�s ok because that creditor is hugely understanding about my slow payment terms. Ha! �Him� will just have to be patient with me.

The other thing that came out of all of this �I�m going to finally buy myself a desk because this is insane. I bought a new laptop 90 days ago�and bought another one yesterday because I simply do not have a desk and my laptop is always laying around the living room where it�s precariously in danger of the mighty dog.

Chloe said she was sorry�so she�s been forgiven. :-)

I also have the best husband ever�..he told me he could help me with $150 and then gave me $200. His generosity always amazes me. The boy bought me a $400 Christmas gift early�.then shells out $200 for this issue�.and because I have a child to buy for�he�s getting from me�.a new pair of pants. Seriously�how sad is that? $600 for me�.$20.99 for him. *sigh*

I did do his laundry last night�he was grinning from ear to ear.

9:34 a.m. ::
prev :: next