PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

the fear of sound and light - devian starr (my receipt and review)

Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004
I got this.. Image Hosted by ImageShack.us the other day�.by the artist that can be found at

devian.diaryland

I just now have a chance to put it into my pc here at the U. and listen to it. So I�m going to write about it as I listen.

So far it�s very mellow and loose and laid back. Makes me wanna pass a j. and I don�t even smoke it. I�m a word whore and I gotta say it�s rather kewl to me that he has a song called �Prick� and that it�s a slow melodic song. I like the juxtaposition of it. I think the cover art on the CD is brilliant.

�you never call and when you do you�re being a prick, you never call and if you did you�d make me sick�

My feelings exactly when it comes to my mother and I love songs that make you think and ponder and wonder what the artist (and I use that word here with full intent) went thru to lead to the song existing. This would be a great song to include on a compilation for that prick that left your ass. But then again I�m glad he doesn�t call me unless it has to do with the child�oh but that�s a whole different song no ones written yet.

Another song, �Arms Length� has the absolute coolest lyrics and I�d post some of those but I do not have the artist�s permission and besides you should have your own copy. I love this song because I had a shrink tell me that I have ARMS LENGTH disease and that I keep everyone at arms length and boy this song could be my movies theme song.

I love the guitar on �Giselle�. �You can call me Giselle and waste what I say�

I love the idea of what we speak out loud becoming a living entity and that it can be wasted by another.

I think that Devian is brilliant and I think he�s only going to get better. I can hear all of his emotion but damn I�d love to hear him sing with all that anger in his voice. I know it�s there.

The voice I hear �its so hard to imagine that sexy voice coming from that sweet picture of Devian but�HELLO..it�s there right there coming forth from my speakers. (almost makes a straight girl like me wanna be a hot boy for a minute)

Next song is �God in my eyes� and I�m thinking �hell no I don�t want to hear a fish induced song� but then�..wow�

�the pain that you give me
will never end�

�you were mine
you were a god in my eyes�

I believe it�s the universal things that make the best songs. I�ve had those kinds of loves�where you idolized someone, they suck.

Last song� �Numb�

I want to be numb
So I won�t feel you
And I won�t see you
Anymore

I want to be numb
So I can�t touch you
I can�t love you
Anymore

Ok..so this song is making me cry�and the CD�s on the last song�.brilliant ending�

I�m moved�.and I better rush off before he kicks my ass for giving you any of the lyrics...oh but ya know Paul Westerberg never bitched at me. (damn but would I cream my pants if he did tho')

-PoeticaL
1103243334 ::
prev :: next