PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

girl - poem

Tuesday, May. 25, 2004

i�m just the girl that washes the dishes

half assed and half clean

dirty,

something�s always left still dirty

smudged out and written again

i�m just the one that you look at

you don�t see me

i lay naked before you

and you look beyond me,

sometimes just eye to eye then walk away

clothing like pages, never tripped or

engaged with

i�m just the girl that calls in the late�

too late in the

afternoon to bother you

in the morning i�m just that ring

that aggravates for a while

i�m just the girl�you don�t miss me

you just bitch me and twist me

and put me away

i�m just the girl you fix me and

break me, my silence

my ignorance of your talking

i�m floating with nothing to say

staring at silence, we�ve embraced

and left you, we�ve both gone away

i�m just the girl that cries when you�re mad

i�m just the one that hasn�t left

like you thought i would

too stay too loudly

you�re not too happy, too bad

i�m just the one that you lie next to

and bitch aboutthe one that

steals all the blankets and kisses you

goodbye every morning, you just roll

over and snore, that�s what love

is this love all about?

what am i for? here and there i abhor

i�m just the one that flips through

the box full of channels

i�m too fast, past,

past the basketball noise

i�m just a girl, and i don�t light up like neon

i don�t inhale along with the boys

i�m just the girl affixed to

a lap topped with keys

opening up no door

i�m just the intellectual book

you can�t crack

you�ve graduated

and graduates don�t read anything

more not me i�m not me anymore�

i�m just the girl that doesn�t

wear aprons or walk along with the dog

i�m just the oil you have to check

the flat tire to change

the picture cracked, beheaded chef�s

and tiggerless heads are just neck

it�s all normal, somehow it�s lost

all it�s former strange

i�m just the girl

the one you caressed

my cheek remembers your name

every now and again

want to go lay down?

lay down again�

again�

and let�s�yeah and again

i�m just the girl

that you don�t know

just the girl not

good enough

i�m just the girl you

wonder about, talk about

walking doubt and shout

and go out with somebody

else, not myself

i�m just the girl

not a toy

like a ball without a bat

i�m little to joy

i�m just the girl that talks in the dark

i�m just the girl with one friend,

no end, and no beginning no conclusion

i�m nothing�you�re always gone

gone away

the end

-PoeticaL

10:20 p.m. ::
prev :: next