PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

headless faces nameless places

Sunday, Jun. 26, 2005
Friday I called off of work because I have been so sick�sick not in the throwing up sick or flu sick�something else that requires doctors and the like. But for the now I am feeling better.

So Friday I slept most of the day. Last night I read a book into the wee hours. Today I sat around and cleaned the apartment and later on tonight I went and did some laundry at the nearby Laundromat for Rick. Rick has been working nonstop since Friday morning. It figures, eh? I have some time to spend with him and him is not around to time spend with.

Today I cleaned all the dishes in the house. I ran the dishwasher and cleaned pots and pans and basically just straightened up the entire apartment, which is not that big but contains over 700 books, tons of school related crap and just I don�t know where I got all of this clutter making paraphernalia, but I have it. Sometimes I see pictures of people�s homes online and I wonder where all their �stuff� is. Where�s their pile of bills and pile of stationary and pile of things that go somewhere else but are sitting on the table for the last week? I wonder how people live like that..it truly amazes me.

When you have �stuff� you have to keep putting your stuff in piles and then you have to arrange the piles and then the piles become mountains and then the mountains become insurmountable when it comes to straightening your stuff.

Today I also watched a lot of HGTV and the FOOD network because as we all know I don�t like to redecorate or cook dinner, I just like to watch other people do it and do it so well. (I DID make dinner last night after being highly cajoled by the tired man of mine � Pork Chops, corn and stuffing)

I have 3 papers to write for this current class I�m in. 3? Yes THREE. I mean geesh, there�s only 4 more weeks in the course and I have to write 3 papers in the next month. That�s basically a paper a week. The first paper is about Non-Monetary Rewards in the Workplace then I have to write a Critical Issue Analysis Paper. I have no idea yet what issue I�m going to write about or even really what a critical issue analysis paper entails. Then our learning team has to write a paper about a research project and we have chosen to write about the movement towards a smoke-free environment!!

Sounds exciting no? I just tallied up the total words for all of this and it�s about 5,000. 5,000 words about stuff I really have no personal interest in and things that I really don�t see myself ever using or working with. Gah�the pursuit of a degree. Even I, who have wanted to be a college student forever, sometimes wonder why I am doing this to myself. Ahh but then I remember�.

It is because I want to be able to help my son in the future forge his own life with the support of his mother. And to be honest, there are times when I simply love the fact that I can say �I work full time and I�m in college��

Today Rick worked all day. He got a $100 tip from a customer. And�he gave it to me. Reason #768,807,110 I pick Rick. He works all day outside sweating and gives me his well-deserved tip. I love that man.

He should know that while I despise being a housewife or doing anything housewifely�..I really do get some stupid sort of thrill out of being the only girl that can fold his boxers for him. I really do. He�s the guy that got me to switch from Tide with bleach to Purex because when we met I loved the way all of his t-shirts smelled and came to find out it was because it was the Purex. Turns out that Purex works well on everything but clothes that kids make dirty. :-)

My son is out on a camping trip this weekend. :-( I miss him. But I have 5,000 words to write in the next few weeks and I haven�t been feeling so great healthwise lately.

Devian sent me the painting he made for me. I can�t wait I tell ya. I can�t even remember how long ago he painted it�it touched me then and now�I can�t wait. I wonder if he still has a picture of it�.so I could show ya sooner than I receive it. I just remember that it made me happy�.very happy to look at.

And now onto book covers�I�m in a book cover mood�.

This book looks interesting...

I just got this book recently..it's so far hilarious...

This looks like a heartbreaking read...gotta get it...

Read her other book........gotta read this one...

This is one that looks great.....if I had the time for such a long novel....

This one is a must must must get soon book....

The one that Devian told me to read, it's going to be a movie soon...

Must read...it got 4 1/2 stars from a reliable source of mine...

Must read, this is the sequel to another book titled Bread Alone that I loved!

A new poetry book I want...

Another poetry book I want.....Mr. Simic rocks...

This next one is just one hell of a strange cover....

this looks like a good one according to reviews..but what an ugly cover that is!!!

This one also sounds good according to reviews...and this is a first time novel by this author so I always find first time novels more exciting.

The reviewer says this is not a chic lit novel.....hmm...and that is not Johnny Depp.....

This next one looks the most interesting by far....

Just kidd ing just kidding....cheese and rice that's pathetically bad.....and I would never read that!  Never!!

I've also noticed that lately the trend is away from covers that sport just legs....legs that have no bodys.  Those were popular for too long.  Now they've moved into heads.  Heads with no eyes or mouths. 

Yes ...see the face is a shameful thing.....but the back is ok...just headless...

And please if you show your face...even in a mere drawing...hide it in shame...

Or you could just put your head in a box...you shameful face owner..

And for crying out loud if you title your book face....please oh please use fake faces on your cover too!!!  And even if they are fake..please cover up the ever telling eyes with some sunglasses....

Feel free to show us your breastes'es

And feel free to dive for pearls buttass naked...

I don't know what Kartography  is, I googled it.....it didn't come up.   I believe it's the art of photographing a face without actually getting the face...

hmmm makes ya wonder huh?  I suppose it could be worse....the whole book world could go generic on my ass...

2:14 a.m. ::
prev :: next