PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

I love my life

Wednesday, Feb. 01, 2006
I�ve started to read �The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People� and �Rich Dad, Poor Dad� at the advice of the financial/mortgage pro that Rick and I met with and spoke with on Sunday morning.

In the process of reading these books I have started to look at my entire life in a new light. A light of a magnifying glass, etc.

In the last month or so I decided to stop woe�ing is me and just suck it up and give my life all the best of me. Meaning, �my best efforts at work�� �my best efforts at school�� �my best efforts as a mother�� and of course �my best efforts as a new wife��

In the last few days at work I have received a few emails from my teammates and I want to document their words here to remind myself that as a result of my putting forth more effort and less moaning and struggling with negativitiy�..here are the fruits of my labors�

a series of emails recently�..

From: Teammate
Sent: Tuesday, January 31, 2006 3:02 PM
To: me; ####; my boss; another boss; another boss
Cc: ####; ####; ######; #######; ######; ######;######
Subject: RE:
Kristy has been outstanding this month with getting these schedules built on time, updating the systems and calling US directly as soon as she see's a possible problem.
We thank you Kristy for your assistance in helping our students be more prepared for their first class, and for also recognizing how hard we have to work without help from support staff.

Teammate

From: a different team member�.
To: me; ####; my boss; another boss; another boss
Cc: ####; ####; ######; #######; ######; ######;######
Subject: RE:

Way to go Chef!

From: another teammember
Sent: Tuesday, January 31, 2006 3:03 PM
To: me; ####; my boss; another boss; another boss
Cc: ####; ####; ######; #######; ######; ######;######
Subject: RE:


I agree!!


From: 2nd level boss
Sent: Tuesday, January 31, 2006 5:02 PM
To: Kristy
Cc: Biggest Boss there is locally
Subject: FW:
Kristy,

Thanks for all of your effort and best practices. We all appreciate YOU!

Thanks,

My 2nd level boss


And From Biggest Boss there is locally that someone cc:�d

Thank you Kristy!!

Today I also got an email from J. as did the entire company..as he moves on to Chicago�

Team,

It is with a heavy heart that today I must say goodbye to all of you, as today will be my last day at the WFC. Although I am leaving this campus I am not leaving the University I am transferring to the Chicagoland Campus. I would like to take this opportunity to Personally thank some people. I would like to start with Jeff thank you for giving me the opportunity to be a part of a great team and instilling the family like atmosphere in me, and like I stated before this was never more obvious than the day of my accident. Next I would like to give special thanks to Randy for taking me under his wing and allowing me to grow in the last 6 months and teaching me so much in such a short amount of time, and being patient as I learned these new skills. Lastly but definitely not least the rest of the team who have been supportive and have made my time here an enjoyable one, like S. and A. who saw me at my worst in the hospital, D and all the BDS' whose prayers comforted me during that time. Let me not forget Kristy who when I was angry made me laugh, and made me take a step back to think before reacting. I will miss you all as I go into the frozen tundra you will all be in my thoughts and are free to drop me an email when ever you please because friendly voices in a new and foreign place are a welcomed thing. Once again thank you all and good luck to all of you in the future.

So for now I sign off in the words of the immortal Jimmy Durante "Good night, Mrs.. Calabash, wherever you are."

J


Sometimes we don�t realize the impact we can have on those around us and most of the time I think I�m unaware of the good that other people see and find in me because I�m so concentrated on the weaknesses. I write this all here to remind myself and to concrete the notion that I am making a difference and I am on the right track.

This past week has been really life altering for me in the way of my personal inner voice and thoughts. I am determined to wipe the slate clean on certain things and move on from other things and not accept that it�s ok for certain people to treat me poorly no matter what.

I have beat myself up far too many times. I have begged for peace so many times in my past and now that it�s here�.I intend to truly accept it and be at peace with it.

I was surprised at what J. said about me....its nice to think I could and did do those things for another individual. :-)



I love my job. I love my co-workers. I love my college career. I love my son. I love my dog. And I love my husband�.and not in that order!


12:45 p.m. ::
prev :: next