PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

i need magic pants

Monday, Jun. 06, 2005
Today I took a �sick day�. Some stuff that went down on Saturday while volunteering to help�.and I seriously needed a mental day to myself. I didn�t plan on it..just this morning I got up and felt like�just�like�well it�s hard to put into words. I felt like I needed a bottle of pills�.a trip to the beach�a giant sized bar of chocolate�.

I had a 1500 word paper to work on, one that I had half finished. I was feeling stressed�just blame sick to my stomach..tired�just out of it. I couldn�t even call the man and seek solace because he left his cell phone on the living room table.

I swear they should give you �mental health� days but they don�t�.and I was sick�just mentally sick. I can�t even describe it. I wanted a hug�from the entire world.

Here�s a list of things I did today

1. Cleaned my car, inside and out (a task that has not been done since I bought my CRV. It smells good�looks good and mentally feels aligned.

2. Saw Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. I cried in the movie theater. It was I and two old ladies were the only ones in there and we were all sniffling. The little girl dying of leukemia�so reminded me of my little brother long ago.

3. I bought two books at a used bookstore for $3.99 (buy one get one free) When the Emperor was Divine by Julie Otsuka and The Republic of Love by Carol Shields.

4. Ate a double chocolate ice cream cone from Marble Slab on a waffle cone. Yum!

5. Bought a new pair of pants at Avenue for $9.99!! Hot pink Capri�s. Too cute.

I just checked my work email from home and I see that even though my absence was announced I got 18 work related emails. They add up to approximately 57 different files with issues that I NEED TO FIX TOMORROW.

I�m trying hard, really hard, to put that out of my mind and enjoy the sunshine streaming into my living room right now. I�m trying so hard to stay mentally strong and alert and happy. I feel myself slipping into that abyss where misery becomes my best friend and I�m trying to alleviate it before I get sucked down. I never seem to be able to crawl right out happily.
7:24 p.m. ::
prev :: next