PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

matchbox twenty lyrics

Tuesday, Nov. 19, 2002
Husband gave me his Borders gift card he got from the bank for opening a checking account and being such a great customer. Man that bank is frigged but that's an entirely different story. Regardless I got the gift card and I snagged a copy of the new MB20 and I'm happily click clacking away on my pc. Save for one problem...who was the jerk that decided to leave out the lyrics on the CD liner? I hate those kinds of people....grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. You can find all of them here! I know I'll be listening to this CD for months to come until I can sing the words without hearing the music. Until they are a part of my vocabulary. Rob Thomas has that way of writing lyrics. If you�re a Matcbbox fan you won�t be disappointed. "Hand me Down" made me cry....

unwell

all day
staring at the ceiling
making friends with shadows on my wall
all night
hearing voices tellin me
that I should get some sleep
because tomorrow might be good
for something

hold on
feeling like I�m headed for
a breakdown
and I don�t know why

but i�m not crazy
i�m just a little unwell
i know right now you can�t tell
but stay awhile
maybe then you�ll see
a different side of me

i�m not crazy
i�m just a little impaired
i know right now you don�t care
but soon enough you�re going to
think of me
and how i used to be
me

talking to myself in public
dodging glances on the train
and i know
i know they�ve all been talking about me
i can hear them whisper
and it makes me think there must be
something wrong with me

out of all the hours thinking
somehow i�ve lost my mind

but i�m not crazy
i�m just a little unwell
i know right now you can�t tell
but stay awhile
and maybe then you�ll see
a different side of me

i�m not crazy
i�m just a little impaired
i know right now you don�t care
but soon enough you�re going to
think of me and how I used to be
me

i�ve been talking in my sleep
pretty soon they�ll come to get me
yeah they�re taking me away

i�m not crazy
i�m just a little unwell
i know right now you can�t tell
but stay awhile
and maybe then you�ll see
a different side of me

i�m not crazy
i�m just a little impaired
i know right now you don�t care
but soon enough you�re going to
think of me and how i used to be

how i used to be
how i used to be

i�m just a little impaired

how I used to be


All I need

�everywhere someone�s getting over
everybody cries
and sometimes you can still lose
even if you really try

talking about the dream
like the dream is over
talk like that
won�t get you nowhere

everybody�s trusting in the heart
like the heart don�t� lie

that�s all I that need
someone else to cling to
well someone I can lean on
until I don�t need to

just stay all through the night
and in the morning let me down
cause that�s all that I need right now

everywhere�s someone�s getting over
everybodys life
there�s someone
people still use other people with a crooked smile

and all around the world there�s a sinkin feeling
out there right now someone�s really down on themselves
and don�t know why
every night

that�s all that I need
someone else to cling to
well someone I can lean on
until I don�t need to

just stay all through the night
and in the morning let me down
cause that�s all that I need right now

and life ain�t no beauty show
we don�t know where tomorrow ends
and when we�re sad
its kind of a drag


Hand me Down

someday they�ll find your small town world on
a big town avenue
gonna make you like the way they talk
when they talkin to you
gonna make you break out of the shell
cause they tell you do
gonna make you like the way they lie
better than the truth
they�ll tell you everything
you wanted someone else to say
they�re gonna break your heart
yeah

from what I�ve seen
you�re just one more hand me down
cause no ones tried to give you
what you need
so lay all your troubles down
i am with you now

somebody oughtta take you in
try to make you love again
try to make you like the way they feel when
they�re under your skin
never once do you think that they would lie
when they�re holding you
and You wonder why they haven�t called
when they said they�d call you
you start to wonder if you�re ever going to make it by
you�ll start to think you were born blind

from what I�ve seen
you�re just one more hand me down
cause no ones tried to give you
what you need
so lay all your troubles down
i am with you now

i�m here for the hard times
the straight to your heart times
whenever it ain�t easy
you can stand up against me
and maybe rely on me
and cry on me
yeah

someday they�ll open up you world
shake you down to the drawing board
do their best to change you
they still can�t erase you

from what I�ve seen
you�re just one more hand me down
cause no ones tried to give you
what you need
so lay all your troubles down
i am with you now

lay them down on me
oh yeah
you�re just one more hand me down
and all those nights don�t give you what you need
so lay all your troubles down on me

7:13 p.m. ::
prev :: next