PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

Muesli Weekend

Sunday, Sept. 10, 2006
I have changed my eating ways. Ok, let me rephrase that. Changing your ways takes time, but making a decision and beginning takes a moment. I have made the decision and have begun. I have learned that for me (and for most people) low carb/no carb diets do not work for the long haul. I lose weight on them, but they do not make me feel entirely healthy. Of course, breaking the sugar addiction happened when I was on the low carb diet. Sugar is like poison. There is nothing valuable in it for the human body. Natural sugars are far far better, this is the kind that come from fruits and some vegetables.

I have decided to increase my fruits and veggies and make sure that there is more of them on my plate than meat. I am doing a low GI diet and following some of the methods in the aforementioned book, primarily the water intake method. PH balanced water. I am curious about PH balances in the body, but more so I already know that I do not drink enough water. I have limited my coffee intake to one cup a day. I know that I would be far better off to have no coffee, but I also know that that�s not going to happen and so I am limiting my intake for now. Perhaps I can overcome it later. I am however not using sugar or any substitute right now.

I also read nearly the entire PH diet book plan last night after Keith fell asleep and I can guarantee you that I intend to inject more foods, because really I've been nearly starving myself eating all the wrong foods. I want to eat more greens, veggies, fruits and good grains. I really need to eat more food not less. I've been starving myself for too long by eating so poorly. However, I do not intend to eat nothing but green leafy vegetables and green veggie infused water. I think it's great if someone can do that, but I am not that someone that can. However I do intend to drink PH balanced water and see what happens. I also intend to drink the high amounts of water that the book recommends.

Onto other things. My son and I had a great time this weekend. We watched all the horror movies I spoke about a few weeks ago. We also went today to see World Trade Center. That movie made me cry in several places, not because of what was happening on the screen so much as the realization that comes over you of what a horrible day it was.

The weekend, like always, flew by too fast.

Here�s a recipe I found and love. I�ve begun to eat breakfast and this makes me feel amazingly better all day.


Muesli


4 1/2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup toasted wheat germ
1/2 cup wheat bran
1/2 cup oat bran
1 cup raisins
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds

In a large mixing bowl combine oats, wheat germ, wheat bran, oat bran, dried fruit, nuts, sugar, and seeds. Mix well. Store muesli in an airtight container. It keeps for 2 months at room temperature.

9:11 p.m. ::
prev :: next