PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

my day today

Thursday, Jun. 29, 2006


Books bought today...


Movie seen today...

New music bought today...


Naps taken today...

One

Poem I fell in love with today


Fat is not a Fairy Tale


I am thinking of a fairy tale,
Cinder Elephant,
Sleeping Tubby,
Snow Weight,
where princess is not
anorexic, wasp-waisted;
flinging herself down the stairs.

I am thinking of a fairy tale,
Hansel and great,
repoundsel.
bounty and the beast,
where the beauty
has a pillowed breast,
and fingers plump like sausage.

I am thinking of a fairy tale
that is not yet written,
for a teller not yet born,
for a listener not yet conceived,
for a world not yet won,
where everything round is good:
the sun, wheels, cookies and the princess.


- Jane Yolen


What I learned today about Frank Lloyd Wright�s love life:


While still married to Miriam, Wright had met Olga Milanoff Hinzenberg, known as Olgivanna, 33 years his junior, at the ballet in Chicago in 1924. A native of Yugoslavia, Olgivanna had studied under Soviet occult teacher Georgi Gurdjieff at his Institute for the Harmonious Development of Man in Paris, France. She was the estranged wife of a Russian architect named Vlademar Hinzenberg, and together they had one daughter, Svetlana, born in 1917. In February of 1925 Wright had invited Olgivanna and Svetlana to move into Taliesin with him. Two months later she obtained a divorce from Hinzenberg, and by the end of 1925 Frank and Olgivanna�s daughter Iovanna was born. Almost three years later on August 25, 1928 they were married.

Letter I wrote to a dead person today�.


Dear Miriam,

I�m sorry that you had to endure extra marital affairs at the hand of your husband. Not only was he bedding another woman but she was also married herself. I know a little something about this sort of betrayal and pain myself Miriam.

I think you were one awesome woman for making his life utterly miserable for nearly 3 years while exhausting every possible avenue you could take to do so. You really put the smack down on him rather bad.

While many may say you were just a money grubbing woman, you were still his wife and he was fucking around on you and you took some amazing steps to stick it to him. I don�t care if you moved out, you were still his wife. He was bedding someone else and even had a child with that someone else while you were still legally his wife. He may have built some damn nice houses and buildings but damn girl you deserved better and the revenge you spouted should be more widely documented.

You�d be sad to know that those laws have disappeared with time. I�m glad you took advantage of them then.

Much Respect,
Kristy

Work I did today

Zip

Inner Peace I found today

Priceless!


9:43 p.m. ::
prev :: next