PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

neon - poem

Monday, May. 31, 2004
neon

neon

somewhere there�s a midway

and a carnival

not a circus with a tent

but a game booth with a voice

i remember from the past

mid-america there�s a picnic

i�m not there

not invited,

and there�s no food in my icebox

love�s going to illinois

so it�s all-empty�cold

just a void

sometimes there�s a boy

all blue eyed

flashing like a sparkler

on a july day almost june, dead afternoon�

but not quiet like the month called may i?

gone�he�s not mine today

sometimes nothing

but a word never written

and then the testimony comes back

and almost�i remember

who it is

that i see in my mirror

then ghost this town again

when the bile comes

i feel

the stems

dead like a flower

sleeping on my bed

wilted

forgotten

like the present guest

that didn�t attend

sometimes i am nothing

and it doesn�t matter

it is those times that i breathe

because they are real

and i am me

you left your trench coat

and i wear it

when i�m lonely, a rubber boat on the ocean

i can float

an envelope full of cut ups

i am fucked up

my heart has caved in

suicidal hope

i�m dragging

now i�m gagging

on the onetime dinner plate

we ate pizza and you

rode your cycle

through the psyche ward

and i wrote you a note

about my soap

when i loved you

you laughed inside my bones

like the moon you hung up

you�re now resurfaced

just left your dirty towel

on my bloody throat



-PoeticaL

4:38 p.m. ::
prev :: next