PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

no no Chloe!!

Thursday, Aug. 17, 2006
Today I came home from work and Chloe was not at the door pawing me like a mad girl like normal. The apartment felt like a tomb it was so quiet. I love this aspect of having a pet, the greeting at the end of a long hard day at work. Today�.no greeting. I nearly panicked. I hit the button on my keychain that locks my car doors and provides Chloe with noise proof that �Mom�s home!� This caused no response.

I really panicked then. I went into the bedroom and searched through the mess of a comforter to see where she was. I was calling her name and she seemed to be nearly passed out.

And then I saw it.

M&M carcasses all over the bed. Some shells, some bits of chocolate�some peanuts. Some just licked. Chocolate?

We all know that Chocolate is a big no no for dogs. It�s poisonous to them.

I triple panicked. Did a Google search for a 24 hr vet clinic and found one.

Drove her there in a panic while she looked out the side window and flirted with all the other drivers as they passed by.

I get there and�..

They tell me �she�s probably ok�we see no signs of poisoning. We�d like to keep her overnight.�

I said, �Ok let�s discuss your estimate on cost.�

They said, �We will monitor her in a �safe� cage and we will put an IV in her in the event that she has a poison reaction and then in the morning you can pay us $299 for our monitoring. It will of course cost more if we have to actually give her any medications.�

I asked, �What would you be looking for as for poisonous reaction behavior?

They said, �Nervous behavior, pacing, panting, elevated heart rate.�

I said, �What if I take her out of here right now?�

They said, �55 dollars and you have to sign the form stating that you declined the doctor�s best advice.�

I signed the form. I paid the 55 dollars. I scooped up my doggie. And we�re home.

I can watch for those signs for far far less than $299!! And besides, Chloe would totally freak out if she had to spend the night in a cage�.a CAGE? Get for real. This dog sleeps on my hip all night every night.

She�s now curled up beside me. She has had no signs of anything.

The vets loved her. I think they wanted to �borrow� her and �ass rape� me and my wallet in the process.

This is definitely proof that I love this dog more than the Pope loves his rosary. It�s also proof that someone thought I didn�t need to have hours and hours of time to sit and think about nothing but the fact that I have to go to the doctor tomorrow and find out more about surgery and my test results. Thank you Chloe...Momma loves you!

Note: the M&M�s were in a bag with a twist tie around it zipped into my school tote bag. She chewed through the bag and through the twisty. I think that she probably spent all day trying to get into it and might have consumed the shells of 3 or 4 M&M�s and the contents of 2 or 3 M&M�s by the time I got home. At least I have to figure that�s what happened since she seems to be fine. I think she was passed out sleeping because she crashed after her sugar rush.

TRIPE NOTE: I love my dog and I�m so so so happy tonight that she�s so very ok. I�m nearly afraid to ask for another miracle tomorrow.


Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
12:25 a.m. ::
prev :: next