PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

nov 10th word count

Sunday, Nov. 10, 2002




I am still ahead of schedule but not as far as I wanted to be after this weekend. I skipped over 3 days not writing at all. Doubting my own talent, beating myself up and letting other people determine for me what I wanted to do as a writer. Instead of stopping, I pushed on this weekend. I just sat and wrote and took my screenwriter friends advice.

I have learned that writing a novel, even if inspired by nano wrimo, that you shouldn�t tell anyone that you are doing it. It�s much like a diet, you�ll have more success if you are self motivated, self accountable, and doing it for yourself.

If this novel doesn�t turn out the way I want, then I will write another one. One things for sure, I am finally writing fiction. And still on track after rewriting a large portion of quite a few scenes. And now I have a plot twist that�s causing me to want to move forward with a vengeance.

Everything feels pretty kewl right now. I�m also midway through reading Choke by Chuck Palahniuk and I snagged a copy of Aimee Mann�s CD Bachelor No.2 used for $4! So I�m being influenced by these people while picking away at this big writers block I had last week. Its strange but I�ve been listening to Paul and Ryan Adams and all the stuff I like the most in the background, and I have found that when I have a fight scene to write I need to play AC/DC and the likes of Metallica on my pc to find the anger. I am learning my writing style and I�m not going to stop writing fiction when nano is over. And I don�t think 50,000 words constitute a novel. I want something with guts and rawness and I am done being afraid.

A new book, a new CD and some cash in my pocket, in my bank account and a clear path after an agonizing weekend of deep thought. I have a gingerbread latte made with skim milk and no sugar and I�m feeling pretty at ease.

-PoeticaL

�Mom, you know that tattoo you have is going to get wrinkles when you get old like grandma, don�t you?�, chirped Bucky while coloring a picture on his leg intending it to be a pretend tattoo of his very own.

�Oh man, I hope not!� I replied in mock horror.

�I can just wash mine off before it gets all cracked up.� He said thoughtfully.

�Next time I�ll get a Crayola tattoo!� I laughingly stated, while trying to forget that I�ll get old.

�Yeah, like the washable kind, then you can wash it off before you get wrinkles� he said as he broke down in giggles and rolled around on the floor holding his stomach.

�I�d rather have washable wrinkles.� I said with thought.

�Grammy takes a bath and hers don�t go away!� he remarked and then laughed harder, still rolling on the floor.

hmmmphhft�kids!
9:34 p.m. ::
prev :: next