PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

one day described in an hour lost

Wednesday, May. 11, 2005
Recently kristyk.org did a running tab of her daily activities in a post. I thought it was great to see how she spends her days and I have to say I am quite honestly #1 very very jealous and #2 admire her beyond words.

My day�.today

7 a.m. hear alarm, hit snooze

7:09 a.m. hear alarm again�hit snooze

7:11 a.m. wake up suddenly as though slept in, do not hear alarm but do turn it off

7:12 a.m. wake up Rick and tell him he is late for work

7:15 a.m. jump in shower, speak to Rick, gather together work items, school items, and my Ipod

7:20 a.m. Hug man goodbye while Chloe steals his pizza he�s eating for breakfast off of the living room coffee table. Listen to man yell at Chloe while she trys to hide behind my ankles for protection. Bad doggie�.but awww doggie gettin in trouble is no funs�.:-(

8:00 a.m. in car driving down 5th avenue to take the 275-N exit to Tampa

8:45 a.m. arrive on Fowler avenue after listening to half a dozen radio talk shows and their stupid banter

8:55 a.m. stop at Starbucks and acquire a Venti Americano with room for half and half. Prepare coffee and continue on way to work.

9:00 a.m. arrive at my desk. Wait not my desk�but the former out busy with her new baby co-workers desk.

9:00 a.m. � 11:00 a.m. Work busily on about 18 issues that have arisen on dozens of students admissions files to obtain missing information, request missing information or determine that the student has dropped and can be removed from the matriculation stages of the process.

11:15 a.m. � Make phone call to apartment complex to issue yet another complaint about leaky ceiling in kitchen and need for repair. Make a huge fuss, am told that my boyfriend is �very nice about the inconvenience� and inform manager that I am �not very nice� about paying rent for an unacceptable domain due to need for repair. Manager in attempt to avoid my wrath of Kristy�ness agrees to write check to us for inconveniences and perform needed cabinet replacement procedure and ceiling fixing before or by June first. Thank manager with my �not nice� voice and call Rick to inform him of outcome.

11:25 a.m. � After speaking to Rick realize that I am quite thirsty and walk down two flights of stairs to obtain a bottle of strawberry juice. Take a much needed potty break and return to desk with renewed and re-juiced sense of purpose.

12:00 p.m. � 3:00 p.m. Work actively on new files that have arrived on my desk via another co-worker who has built the student schedules. Begin to determine what may be missing from these files.

3:00 p.m. � Look at clock and realize I have not taken a lunch yet and will need to do so soon before the acceptable time range for lunch has passed and look like idiot for taking lunch one hour before closing time.

3:15 p.m. � Realize I am still at my desk. Check email, check notes to see if son has written anything new.

3:20 p.m. � Leave desk. Walk to car in beautiful sunshine wishing I could split out and go to the beach for a few hours of relaxation.

3:25 p.m. � Go to Taco Bell and buy one Chicken Chalupa and a small coke. Eat while driving back to work, while listening to Ipod. Earphone wires get in way of eating. Get disgusted and remove headphones and turn radio on.

3:45 p.m. still sitting in car in sunshine with eyes closed trying not to fall asleep. Rub temples, afternoon headache on the way.

4:10 p.m. Arrive back at desk too early. Pile of work was daunting and calling my name from the abiss of the warm sunny parking lot.

4:12 p.m. � 6:16 p.m. Work on files, discuss with Director work situation for next two days in the alternate location I will be in. Pack up files I will work on for next two days in alternate location. Receive in and file and fax to appropriate receiver of information transcripts for incoming students. Realize that it�s 6:16 p.m. and I am still at my desk, with my backpack packed full of the next two days worth of work.

6:17 p.m. Leave relatively empty office to drive home.

6:20 p.m. Resist the urge to stop again at Starbucks and buy another coffee since afternoon headache has reached massive proportions and caffeine is surely the answer.

7:15 p.m. Arrive home to find that Rick is cooking dinner. Cube steaks, corn and rice. Yum. Sit down and wait for dinner to be done. Realize that I still must do homework, post online discussion questions for attendance purposes and scoring points, and wash laundry.

7:25 p.m. Sit down on loveseat and eat dinner. Chloe begs. Chloe does not get any because of earlier incident. Bad dog!

7:45 p.m. Realize sitting and watching reruns of CSI will not accomplish my homework and laundry issues.

8:25 p.m. Drive to bank to retrieve some cash to turn in for quarters at nearby Laundromat to do laundry at apartment complex.

8:35 p.m. Stop at local convenience store to buy a soda and cash in a twenty to get a ten to turn in for quarters at next door Laundromat.

8:45 p.m. Quarters in hand, return home. Walk laundry basket and pocket�o quarters to the landromat area of complex. Begin laundry

9:00 p.m. Return to apartment to begin homework/school tasks. Spend hour or so on schoolwork while alternately running to laundry area to move laundry from washers to dryers at the appropriate times.

9:55 p.m. Fold laundry and walk back to apartment carrying big basket with some items already on hangers.

10:05 p.m. Make a cup of tea needing caffeine hit that will probably be a mistake because it�s getting late, however still have thing to do

10:20 p.m. After putting some laundry in closet quietly as to not wake up the man, who is now sleeping, finish preparing cup of tea. Return to computer to check email, read a few must read daily blog�s and decide to recount the day via this entry.

10:20 p.m. � now Waste a lot of time vegging out and writing about boring day and realizing that I did not 1. wipe my son�s face, 2. kiss my son today or 3. dance to rap songs with my son today. Had any of the latter 3 happened it would have been an amazing day. Since they didn�t happen I must ask�.

Is this all there is to my day??? Work work work, laundry, homework homework homework�write a diary entry?

Future day�s plans�.finish tea�take a hot bath to bring on heavy dosage of tiredness mixed with relaxation of final days caffeine and read a frivoulous novel that will benefit me in no way educational wise. Say a prayer for my son�s safety, my man�s happiness and curl up next to Chloe and let her little warmth fuel my zzz�s.

The End

Tomorrow will be much of the same thing except that I will not travel across the bay and I will be writing a 700-1000 word essay on some stupid communications mumbo jumbo.
11:28 p.m. ::
prev :: next