PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

happy one month!

Thursday, Feb. 13, 2003
It�s been one month (we met on Jan 12th) since I met Rick. I don�t know what happened to the last 4 weeks, but they have already changed so much in me. I am already a different person. I was so convinced that love was a painful thing. That love was a disappointment as large as the sky is vast. I was telling someone that �men are all the same�� and that I was threw with it all. But then in the next breath I said, �You know that guy that all your girlfriends said they couldn�t be with because he was too nice? Well yeah�that�s the guy I want�that guy!� And Cathy said, �That�s how Ricky is.� The next night my friend Diane and I went over to Cathy�s to essentially scope out Ricky. Rick�s brother shows up with him in tow and Diane, Cathy, Rick and myself are standing in Cathy�s garage. He�s leaning against the washer. He�s stealing glances in my direction. My face feels hot, and I�m stealing glances back in his direction. Then after a few minutes he walks into the house and Cathy turns to me and says �what do you think?� I say �he has a nice ass!� Yeah that�s the first thing I said. I know�I know�. She walks into the house and lifts up his shirt and checks it out and says to him (while I�m still in the garage oblivious) �yeah she was right you DO have a nice ass.� She comes back and tells me what she did and I tell Diane I�m embarrassed and want to leave. She won�t let me. Rick comes back into the garage grinning from ear to ear and says �So you think I have a nice ass eh?� *blush*

So then Diane and Rick and I all decide to go to my house to get a bicycle for Rick since someone stole his. I decided to give it to him. When we got there my ex was there wanting to speak to me. Rick sat in the car with Diane and I kept telling her that if he was uncomfortable with the situation and wanted to leave he could. He never did. He told her (she told me later) that he didn�t want to leave because he was worried that ex might be physically abusive. He also told her I had beautiful eyes. After a too long talk with ex, Rick and I ended up in my car alone with the bike packed up. We went to Burger King of all places and sat down and talked. I remember wanting to reassure him that it was all ok. He seemed nervous, but there was a vibe from the start. We ate some food, I played with a straw and we talked. I remember I asked him what he was looking for and he quickly said, �a relationship.� We were drawn to each other from the start. He made me feel comfortable and I have never looked back.

That night was amazing. I will forever remember sitting on that couch his hand in mine. I will never forget that feeling because I have had that feeling every day and night since. It just felt right from the start. It feels right now. The very next night after I met Rick I found out I was homeless, as in nowhere to sleep that night. He told me �you�re staying here.� I said, �but�.are you�but�are you..sure?� I really believe it was all meant to be.

Yes it happened fast.
Yes it blows my mind.
Yes I thank god everyday.
Yes it�s been one month.
And YES he does have a nice ass. *grin*

Thanks for the last month of laughter, smiles, kisses, hugs, �love�.

-PoeticaL
1:15 p.m. ::
prev :: next