PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

over the river and through the woods....

Saturday, Sept. 20, 2003

A few days ago I called my grandmother from work.I got there early and there is a phone installed for employee use and I called her.I had a half hour.I ended up on my proverbial knees bawling my eyes out in the employee break room watching people rush past me to start their day.

I hadn�t talked to her about the divorce.I remember at one point she said, �I�m sure you�re happy it�s over.�For the first time ever I uttered �I�m happy I can move on, I�m happy I have another chance�I will never be happy that something and someone I chose to believe in had to ever be over.�

To which she simply replied, �I love you Kristy and you�ll be ok.�

Sometimes someone says the right thing at the right time.That was one of those times�.

Tonight I checked the mail and I got a letter in the form of a card from her.It said �Thinking of You� on the front.Before I ever opened the card I started to cry.I mostly walk around my every day life feeling family-less.Telling myself that all I have in the world is my son.When that envelope met my hand I realized that if I just reach out to people�sometimes they are really there.

My grandfather celebrated his 80th birthday this past June.She included a newspaper clipping of the happy ad she placed in the local newspaper back in Johnstown.His picture was in there.He�s always loved reading happy ads.I cannot believe he�s 80.I have decided that I�m going to sit down and write him a letter and say all of the things I know I have to say while I can say them.

11:30 p.m. ::
prev :: next