PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

rhett miller

Saturday, Feb. 25, 2006
Today I found him.



I listened to his entire new album and it was instant ruined panties. He�s just that good. He�s the former lead singer of the Old 97�s, who I also like, but did not know their lead singers name.



Of course I had to google him�and found a great article here



Now I know��that I have�.a new love.



I read the above article after listening to his album and it was instant love when I read�



�I have time for just one more question. On the title track, Miller sings, �People like me keep a list of the things in this world that we trust.� I want to know: What�s his list? He hesitates, then slowly relates: �Ray Davies, ice cream, my kid, sunsets, a good book.�



Notice�.he didn�t say booze, drugs, coffee, parties, girls???



He also stated�..

�Miller talks a bit more about his inspirations, including books�early influences like A Catcher in the Rye, and later works such as Don DeLillo�s Underworld and David Foster Wallace�s Infinite Jest (�Reading both of those books, I felt like my head was literally expanding,� he says).�



He READ Infinite Jest??????? with it�s 1088 pages????�.that�s my nemesis of books, I cannot get myself to read past the first page I feel so daunted by it�s mass. If he read it�.*gush* If he didn�t read it and lied about it�*gush*. I say the latter because if I were to ever lie about a book, it would be that one�yet it daunts me so much I cannot even begin to lie about it. I told my book club members my dirty little secret about my nemesis and how it haunts me. They laughed but did NOT suggest we read it as a group. *sigh*



I�ve been living on the memory of a dream I once had � Rhett Miller
2:47 p.m. ::
prev :: next